CPU seems to be running hot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-03-2010, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Default CPU seems to be running hot.

My new build seems to be running hot at idle. In the BIOS it says 40 C but when I look at the temp using Speccy or Core Temp its idle at 25 C. Looking at Speccy and Core Temp when at load it only reaches 45 C. I've taken the heatsink (Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler.) off twice and replaced the thermal compound just to be sure I applied it correctly and the temps haven't changed. Anyone have any suggestions? Could the BIOS temp be incorrect? Am I just dumb? Haha


CPU: Running an AMD Phenom II X6 1055
Motherboard: ASUS M4A89GTD PRO
__________________

Kieyen is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

Ive heard that the CPU must reach a certain temperature to idle. Is the Noctua NH-U12P SE2 120mm SSO CPU Cooler and after market cooler or did it come with the CPU?
__________________

Kenny3779 is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

I don't see what the problem is. A good avergae temp at load is mid 40s and you're hitting 45 tops and 25 idle?
I wish I had those temps.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 06:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

40 in the BIOS is a good temp, and is a factor of things like ambient temp, case flow, and other components.

But I'd be happy with 40 idle, and honestly, its load thats the more important number.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 01:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

What got me asking the questing was that I saw that the CPU I have can got up to 55 C to 65 C and I wasn't sure if it was the BIOS temp reading of 40 that I should be worried about or if it would be the programs like Speccy and the temp it is showing that I should go off of.

@Patonb: Thanks, I think I see more of what the CPU temp in the BIOS is showing me now.
Kieyen is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 03:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

Try using hwmonitor from cpuid.com
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 03:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

I have that one. It says core temp is at 20 C and CPU temp is 37.
Kieyen is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

Which is the core? Should be 6 readings.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Missouri
Posts: 20
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

It says the core temperature is 23 C.
Kieyen is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 04:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU seems to be running hot.

It should list all 6 cores individually, not 1 reading.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU running too hot? PositiveKaram Overclocking and Modding 20 07-13-2010 10:23 PM
My q6600 and 8800 GT are running hot for no reason Akumajin Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 07-23-2009 07:59 PM
Got my rig running.. New LCS, CPU, MB and PSU Antec-User New Systems | Building and Buying 9 03-10-2009 03:28 AM
CPU too hot, help! boomgagem Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 01-07-2009 12:03 PM
Video card running at 65 celsiuses, too hot? zukster Overclocking and Modding 9 06-19-2008 11:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.