CPU Running Hot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2005, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to Iron_Cross Send a message via MSN to Iron_Cross Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Cross
Default CPU Running Hot

This could probably have gone in the hardware section, but since it mainly has to do with cooling I'm putting it here.

I just got a new P4 3.2 proc (LGA 775). And a new motherboard (Asus p5p800). I installed everything, had to get a new power supply and a new fan/heatsinc since my old heatsinc wouldn't work with the Socket T (775).

Anyways, I got it up and running. Started installing Win XP Pro on a maxtor 80gb hdd. It went through the formatting, formatted fine, and rebooted. The initial setup/formatting took about an hour, give or take. Once it rebooted it started going through the second phase of the install. After about 10-20 mins, the computer shut off. It just shut off.

So I figured the CPU was overheating. I turned it back on the next day and wen into the BIOS and saw that (without the case being closed) it was running at 85C. Which is hot. And that was just in the BIOS, I wasn't even doing anything. The fan was working and everything.

The inside of my case is all metal, so I'm guessing it gets to be like a freaking oven in there. And I have no fan on the back pulling the air out of the case...but would that fan REALLY get my temp down to an acceptable range?

What are some of my options to get the CPU down to a good rate? When I put the fan/heatsinc on I didn't put any new Thermal Compound on (I just left the stuff that came with the fan, it was a white paste sort of)...so maybe I should put some arctic silver 5 on there? Would that help?

I also haven't put the latest BIOS on there, which I'm doing tonight. But I doubt that would make much diff with the temp.

Thanks for any replies.
__________________

__________________

See today\'s Penny-Arcade!(May contain foul lanuage)
Pain is weakness leaving the body.

PM Me for my MSN
Iron_Cross is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Well adding fans at the back of the case to remove the hot air really helped me with my temperature. You do need some sort of airflow to remove all the hot air. Your CPU temperature shouldn't go above 65C really. The thermal compound that comes on the stock HS is fine, but if you really want then AS5 will help slightly. Make sure to clean the CPU and HS surfaces with 99% Isopropyl Alcohol or something first though.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 131
Default

wow 85C? try reseating the heatsink to ensure its making proper contact. After you do that, and if it sitll shows 85C, put ur hand on the heatsink, if it feels cold or normal temp then its likely a faulty sensor and u have to RMA the board.
__________________
P4 2.8E @ 3.5Ghz(24/7),3.72Ghz (benchmarking) 1:1
Abit IC7 Max 3
2 X 512mb OCZ PC 3700 dual channel Performance series ram
EVGA 6800GT @ 440mhz/1.2Ghz(24/7), 451/1.23Ghz (max benchable)
2X80 gig SATA RAID 0 drives
SB Audigy 2 24bit
Black X-Blade Gaming Case
Enermax 460 watt PSU
CPU Cooled By: Thermalright Xp 90 + 92 mm panaflo fan
GPU Cooled By: Arctic Cooling Nv Silencer 5 Rev. 2
_OvErClOcKeD_ is offline  
Old 09-14-2005, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _OvErClOcKeD_
wow 85C? try reseating the heatsink to ensure its making proper contact. After you do that, and if it sitll shows 85C, put ur hand on the heatsink, if it feels cold or normal temp then its likely a faulty sensor and u have to RMA the board.
Try flashing the BIOS first with the last version of the BIOS.

I've lost count the number of time's I have seen extremely high temps (eg. 120c on an AMD Athlon 2600 and 90c on an AMD Duron 900) that have been sorted out by a BIOS upgrade.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Bamberg, Germany
Posts: 549
Send a message via ICQ to Iron_Cross Send a message via MSN to Iron_Cross Send a message via Yahoo to Iron_Cross
Default

I took off the default TC, and replaced it with AS5. Then I put in a 90mm (60+cfm) fan as the exaust fan.

Now my CPU idles at 42C, w00t! I once I install the OS and everything I'll check how it runs at full load. But 42C is whole lot better than 85C :-P

Thanks for all the replies.
__________________

See today\'s Penny-Arcade!(May contain foul lanuage)
Pain is weakness leaving the body.

PM Me for my MSN
Iron_Cross is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Now put a fan in the front of the case and get a slightly better fan for the heatsink :-p
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buffalo, WY, USA
Posts: 226
Default

You were running with no case fans at all? Thats your problem right there. The case is getting no air moving thru it, all the CPU fan is doing is blowing hot air arround inside the case. Atleast one case fan is mandatory just to get airflow thru the case to keep things cool.

I thought EVERYONE knew that?
Tro1086 is offline  
Old 09-15-2005, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

I didnt when i built my first computer..... But that was a long time ago and i knew like nothing about them lol
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.