cpu for a pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default cpu for a pc

i have looked a cpus 4 my 1st time pc build and have seen both an amd venice 3000+ athlon 64 and an intel p4

the amd runs at 2ghz and the intel at 3.
they r both the same price....so isnt this a clear win 4 intel?

p.s.i dont want 2 overclock as i dont have much money (so cant
afford 2 buy another cpu if it dies) and i have never done oc'in b4
so ill probably muck it up....

please help me!!!!
__________________

eatmangos91 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

ok, the reason is that they are different is because amd and intel work differently. if you do a search of the forums you will find something about it.Thought if your gaming get the amd not gaming get the intel as simple as that.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

think of it this way

intel is like a 6 lane hwy with a 100mph speed limit
amd is like a 10 lane hwy with a 60mph speed limit

one move faster buy they both get the same amount of work done in the same amount of time

however about your overclocking comment
it is not hard to do basic overclocks and does not endanger the cpu as long as you stay in reasonable limits i.e. dont expect 4+ghz out of a 2ghz amd look more in the range of 2.6 or lower also thats why this forum exists to help ppl with problems overclocking being one of them.

personally if you do games get amd if you do all kinds of cpu intensive stuff like rendering or amimation intel might be the best choice for you
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default

thx guys...i play games so ill get the amd
eatmangos91 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 02:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default

oh...and should i get the 3000+ for £100 or get the 3200+ for £30 more...im on a tight budget so wpuld it make a big difference???
eatmangos91 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 03:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

No not a big dif go for the 3200+ though if your not into OC even if you are the 3200+ would um give you more of a ability of OC
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 05:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aspire.comptech
think of it this way

intel is like a 6 lane hwy with a 100mph speed limit
amd is like a 10 lane hwy with a 60mph speed limit
that is the best comparison ever!
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 08:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default

what about this cpu:
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=88105

and this mb:
http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/produ...duct_uid=85648

is the mb ok?....i have no clue wot im lookin 4 in an amd mb...
eatmangos91 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by eatmyass91
is the mb ok?....i have no clue wot im lookin 4 in an amd mb...
I want to say it good (nforce 4 ultra a good chipset) but I cant bring my self to say anything made by FOXCONN is half way decent.

I try to stick to more respectful companies that make motherboards.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 10:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Default

wot is a good make of mb?

and can any1 recomend a mb for £50-75?
__________________

eatmangos91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.