Cpu Oc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Cpu Oc

I have just recently OC'ed my e6600 to 3.0 by just increasing the fsb to 334. I run it on a Asus p5b-deluxe and am wondering will i experience any problems since all i did was pump up the fsb? I am very new to this OC concept and am wondering if i will be experiencing any problems for not increasing the Vcore, or Ram settings? i have been running for a good while and haven't had a shut down. Plus i am on stock Bios version. Any idea if i am good to stay where i am at if i dont get any crashes?
__________________

PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cpu Oc

What are the temps? If they are low, you dont have to do anything.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Cpu Oc

Well my CPU-Z keeps bouncing between two reading one being correct and another reading a 6 multiplier instead of a 9. And what program would be best for monitoring temps?
PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cpu Oc

The bouncing is due to Intel's SpeedStep. Thats completely normal. Everest Home is the best for temps.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Cpu Oc

Thanks man, i added you to my Aim so i might ask you questions later on someday, I appreciate your help.
PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Cpu Oc

no problem
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 01:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Cpu Oc

The program you suggested says my MoBo temp is at 30c and my Video is at 50c, i have left it on for about 19 hours so far. Everything looks good. I cant find a direct CPU temp on Everest, only MoBo.
PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 02:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Cpu Oc

OC Guide.
Core2Duo Overclocking Guide v1.1

Oh and peter, your gonna need to start telling people to disable EIST and C1E settings in their CMOS if they want to OC a C2D.. (To its max and most stable OC)

Try Core temp or Speed fan for temps if one program does not work.
Ste is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
PC_Caveman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hawstrilia
Posts: 257
Default Re: Cpu Oc

Both cores are stable at 24c, i think i am in the green, i might want to push further in the future but im fine with this for now.
PC_Caveman is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Cpu Oc

Sure hope ya read the guide I linked..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.