CPU multiplier - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2005, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default CPU multiplier

I have a friend with an AMD Athlon 64 3000+ and he got his multiplier to be at 10. Why does my processor only go to 9 for the multiplier? Is it because it is socket 939? Also, is there some way I can flash the BIOS and get it to let me put it at 10?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

If his is socket 754, that is why...no a BIOS flash won't do it....as I've said to people a lot....BIOS flashes don't magically unlock things that weren't already there....the multi is determined by the CPU not the motherboard or BIOS.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 02:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Ah, socket 754 then. Thanks, that's all I wanted to know.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You can get a modded bios that in some cases can unlock the multiplier.
Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

And how do I go about doing that?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Oooohhhh, asking me how to mod a bios? Dude, ouch. Go over to www.xtremesystems.org

Here is the thread:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...play.php?f=136
Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 01:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Nothing like stating the obvious, but I don't think I'm quite ready for that yet... but the knowledge shall prove useful in the future. Thanks.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The only time CPUs were able to be unlocked through the BIOS were mostly in the rare cases of having a non super locked CPU such as the 2400+XP assuming you had one made before week39 of 2004.......then there were a few isntances where the BIOS could infact unlock it, but he's not going to find it for a socket 939 CPU because they are all "super locked" through the CPU.....it would require a hardware mod on the CPU itself, I'm pretty positive of that.........XS is down right now so I can't see what that link you posted has in it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 04:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah i know, friggen XS having to be remodeled! Who the hell dot hey think they are, taking that away from us! I'm kinda excited to see what it's going to look like though...

BigToe over at XS, the one who does the majority of BIOS modding, has alot for a 939 chip. But i think you're right, because I remember reading an article that told of how to unlock the multiplier (down anyway) on the 64's and it involved taking off the IHS and bridging two transistors. I really wouldnt want to attempt that, at this time anyway...
Him is offline  
Old 06-03-2005, 05:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, I was considering removing the IHS, but I decided against it.....not worth it for a couple extra degrees that probably won't help the OC more but will certainly cancel out a warrenty.

TicTac is the main 'guru' of modded BIOSes that I know of, mainly because he made a crapload for the NF7-S v2 board which I currently own.

Sorry this is a shameless plug but I gotta do it:



My venice just arrived

No board for it though lol....gotta either sell my 6800GT AGP or wait until DFI releases their nf3 socket 939 AGP board
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.