CPU hot now but was fine 1 year ago - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2005, 04:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default CPU hot now but was fine 1 year ago

Hey guys, I have an AMD 64 Clawhammer 3200+ at 2.0ghz. When i first built the PC i had temps of about 35c idle and 45load, and now its running at 50idle and 55ish on load. I haven't changed anything. Does the thermal paste "wear out". Or should i just clean the fans or what? Also the PC is pretty clean as far as background software and crap. I'm only running 22 total processes, including Firefox. Suggestions? I haven't formatted in about 8 months, but it's not running a lot of crap so i dont' know why it's getting so warm.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 04:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Clean the fans/heatsinks and it should help.....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Dust in the case? i would say apply some new thermalpaste too
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Gotta agree with the above.

Spring for a can of compressed air and blow out your case, heatsink, and fan(s). Remove the fan from your heatsink (but not your heatsink from the CPU!) and blow both out really, really good.

Don't forget to reattach the fan, and don't forget to plug it back in!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 06:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 54
Default

yeah, clean the fans..
its amazing how much difference dust can make.
i cleaned mine the other day, the average temps of my CPU dropped about 20.C !!

is it safe to use compressed air on a PC?
__________________
P4 3.00Ghz/HT 1Mb Prescott OC\'ed to 3.50Ghz
ASUS P4S800-MX
1024Mb DDR 400 PC3200 [2x512mb]
Western Digital 80Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 160Gb 7200rpm
Seagate Barracuda 200Gb 7200rpm
Nvidia Geforce 6200 256Mb
LiteOn 12x DVD + R/RW
480W PSU
JamesR is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Yes, just dont let the liquid get onto the parts....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You must have alot of dust built up in that case. I would be afraid to open it
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 05:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

[sarcasm] Just hose off the inside of your case...[/sarcasm]

After you clean it up, and let it dry ; ) re-apply some thermal compound.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 06:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

if you want you can get a DAMP cloth of Water and wash the inside of your case of and then all of the dust is off. Make sure that all of the parts are out and that it is completly dry before putting all of the stuff back in. Thank you for your time hopefull we can get this to work!
~Grim
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 06:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

clean it out, and replace the thermal paste. Also clean up wires.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.