CPU heatsink? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2004, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default CPU heatsink?

I have a 2.8 celeron d, Not sure what core(btw how do I check that)

and I am getting CPU temps at around 45 C is that good enough? thats just idling though Im guessing.

but how do I check what core i have
and If I want to get a heatsink, How do I know which one's I can get?

I mean Im looking on newegg.com and it's like for socket 478 3.2ghz+

and people in the reviews saying their putting them on their 2.8 celerons, If it says 3.2 ghz+ does that mean it can be used on one's that are lower?
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

BUMP?
__________________

__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 12:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to AMD 0wn4g3
Default

u must buy a heatsink specifically 4 the cpu... ie socket 754 will not work on the A socket cpu and visa versa... and 45 degrees is decent...its right in the middle of what it should be running at, if ur overclocking it thats extremely cool w/o many fans or water cooling lol
__________________
my imaginary comp (soon 2 be real)
-AMD FX55/57(when it exists)
-A8N-SLI Deluxe (nF4)
-Dual 6800Ultra PCI-e

-2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8
-WDR 10K 148GB RAID 0
-WD 320GB RAID1
-Creative Labs 1000Watt 8 speakers
-Customized DangerDen LCH20 kit with 630GPH pump, tri port CPU block, Chipset block, Dual 6800 blocks, dual reservoir for 2 5.25\" bays, 3 120mm fan external radiator, fan controller and 6 thermal sensory LED display

:::drooooools:::
AMD 0wn4g3 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

but how do I know what CPU fan to buy, on new egg it'll be like socket 478 3.2 ghz+ I understand the sockets and stuff but what does 3.2ghz+ mean, does it mean it'll run any processors that are intel UP to 3.2, or only proceesors 3.2 and up?
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to AMD 0wn4g3
Default

are u talking about the fan itself?? or the heatsink? bcuz when u buy the heatsink it must be for the SOCKET TYPE, doesnt matter the cpu speed just look at socket type, some heatsinks come with fans already on them, if not look for the fan size it supports, most will be either 80 or 90MM but ive seen some that take 120MM but i cant amagine the sound that would come off that thing lol
__________________
my imaginary comp (soon 2 be real)
-AMD FX55/57(when it exists)
-A8N-SLI Deluxe (nF4)
-Dual 6800Ultra PCI-e

-2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8
-WDR 10K 148GB RAID 0
-WD 320GB RAID1
-Creative Labs 1000Watt 8 speakers
-Customized DangerDen LCH20 kit with 630GPH pump, tri port CPU block, Chipset block, Dual 6800 blocks, dual reservoir for 2 5.25\" bays, 3 120mm fan external radiator, fan controller and 6 thermal sensory LED display

:::drooooools:::
AMD 0wn4g3 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 63
Default

No like here look at this, random example I found

Compatibility: Intel Pentium-4 Socket 478 3.4GHz and Beyond
Dimensions: Fan: 70 x 70 x 15mm, Heatsink: 88 x 68 x 43mm
Bearing Type: Ball Bearing
Nominal Speed(RPM): 4500+/-10%
Max Air Flow(CFM): 37.1
Max Pressure: 36.3 mmH2O
Heat Sink Material: Copper and Aluminum Alloy 6063-T5
Rated Voltage: 12V
Connector: 3 Pin Molex 2695
Noise(dBA): 39.4
Features: Thermal Compound/or T725 Phase Change of "Chomerics", High forced stainless steel clips flip on two-sided easily and firmly


OK the compatiblilty is socket 478 aight so that works, but it also says 3.4ghz and beyond
WHAT does that mean, the 3.4 ghz and beyond

i have a 2.8 Celeron D(not sure what core, how do you check core?)
so will it work with mine for example, cause it says 3.4 ghz and beyond?
__________________
My Computer
Sofo File Server Case II
Antec 430 Watt PSU
5 Coolermaster LED fans(2G 3B)
Intel 865iPERL
Intel 2.8 Celeron D
ATi Radeon 9200 SE(For Now)
Sony 52x Cd Drive
Seagate 7200 RPM 40G
CoolerMaster Jet 4 (it works great)
ATI-M is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 01:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to AMD 0wn4g3
Default

u can check the core by either google search or look on newegg 4 ur processor and it will tell u under specs, and i assume the 3.4 and highers means its cooling capabilities, that it can cool 3.4 and beyond, i dunno its sounds weird tho doesnt it?
__________________
my imaginary comp (soon 2 be real)
-AMD FX55/57(when it exists)
-A8N-SLI Deluxe (nF4)
-Dual 6800Ultra PCI-e

-2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-8
-WDR 10K 148GB RAID 0
-WD 320GB RAID1
-Creative Labs 1000Watt 8 speakers
-Customized DangerDen LCH20 kit with 630GPH pump, tri port CPU block, Chipset block, Dual 6800 blocks, dual reservoir for 2 5.25\" bays, 3 120mm fan external radiator, fan controller and 6 thermal sensory LED display

:::drooooools:::
AMD 0wn4g3 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ok here's what it means. Since you know what the sockets mean there's no need to discuss that anymore. What it means when it says up to 3.4GHz it's talking about mainly because the faster the chip the hotter it's going to run so therefore it's basically letting you know the quality of heatsink and/or the fact that it could be once getting past 3.4GHz it's no longer the same socket.

You want to look for a heatsink that's solid copper and possibly with heat piping but, that's like the top quality heatsinks currently. Also you want a fan with a lot of CFM but a low level of decibals unless you really don't care about noise.

You can use the program CPU-Z and it can tell you the core of your chip.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Google for Cpu-z.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 05:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php



1.25 is latest version i believe. Should tell you everything u need to know about your CPU, and alot about the rest of your system.
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.