CPU FSB different from MOBO specs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2005, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default CPU FSB different from MOBO specs

Recently, my old CPU, an AthlonXP 2100 fried on me, and I'm looking into buying a new one. I have a GA-7DX+ motherboard, and the specs indicate support for Athlon/Duron processors up to 233 FSB. It's a socket A board.

I'm looking at upgrading my processor to the AMD Sempron 2800, which is also socket A, but has a 333 FSB. Would flashing the BIOS let me use the processor in this system board? If not, what would happen if I were just to slap in the processor anyways?
__________________

gnu is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 11:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Hmmm...I'd like to know the answer to that one myself...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The processor would run much slower , it needs a 333mhz bus for full speed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 03:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

there are no processor that use a 233mhz fsb stock that I know of. the specs for the GA-7DX state it supports CPU's at a max of 200mhz fsb. I wouldn't count on being able to use that sempron with your 7dx. I think you should get a new motherboard. the XP 2100+ uses a 266mhz fsb, so you probably had it's fsb underclocked to 200mhz and wasn't aware of it. how did it fry? if it was an electrical surge you might have more parts damaged other than your CPU
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
gnu
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 20
Default

Yeah, 266 is right. I think the 7DX+ might support the 2100 up to it's 266, but I'm not sure.

I have a Volcano 9+ cooler, and if you have it too, you'll notice how flimsy the wiring is connecting the fan to the speed controller. I don't know when it happened, but one of the wires was severed, and (I didn't notice until too late) the CPU fan wasn't powered, while the computer was on. So after that, my computer can boot up, but cannot load Windows...

But instead of getting that, I've decided to go for the Athlon 64 now, and get a new Mobo. I think I'm going to get the Shuttle XPC.
gnu is offline  
Old 02-05-2005, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 296
Default

yeah. going for the socket 939 athlon 64 is the best idea for upgradeability.
__________________

__________________

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ \"Venice\"
ASRock 939Dual-SATA2
2GB OCZ Platinum DDR400
eVGA 256mb 6800GT
ANTEC 430watt TruePower 2.0
WD 160GB 8MB cache HDD
NEC 16x Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
xteam02001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.