Cpu Fan Speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-13-2004, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default Cpu Fan Speed

Hello,

I currently own a Techie Toyz Power Chill P4 heat sink with the fan speed currently set to automatic, and now I no longer trust my bios to manage my cpu fan speed after experiencing glitches during a bios upgrade, and Im heavy gamer so I am wondering if it is a good idea to just manually set the fan speed to maximum. Any suggestions would be appreciated, Thanks.

Ender
__________________

ender2001 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

set to maximum wil give you best cooling, but also be somewhat louder. it's safe, and i suggest set to max
__________________

__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 09:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

I agree with 4W4K3, set it to the maximum speed for cooler CPU temps.

-Dan The Man
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

not necessarily, certain benchmark tests performed on the Coolermaster Jet 4 showed that having the fan speed set to maximum showed no improvement than having the fan speed set to minimum. I think it can be down to the temperature of the air your blowing onto the CPU also......not sure, but it seems a logical reason the bench mark result seen on the Jet 4.
espeed is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

ive never even heard of his fan and heatsink.!!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by espeed
not necessarily, certain benchmark tests performed on the Coolermaster Jet 4 showed that having the fan speed set to maximum showed no improvement than having the fan speed set to minimum. I think it can be down to the temperature of the air your blowing onto the CPU also......not sure, but it seems a logical reason the bench mark result seen on the Jet 4.
...temps will only affect benchmark if its overheating or something. you shouldn't notice an improved score between 40C and 10C really. If it's not that loud, and you want cooler temps to save life of chip...then max it. but if you dont care really about temps, then you can keep it quieter.
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default

Actually made by maddog multimedia i think

http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...896&pfp=BROWSE

I think the techie toyz bit might be the store he bought from
espeed is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by espeed
Actually made by maddog multimedia i think
i have a video card by them...awesome MX-440. overclocked to 350/500 no probs
__________________
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
¯\\(º_o)/¯</marquee>
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,323
Default

i like thermaltake.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 12-14-2004, 08:57 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6
Default

And wouldnt having the fan permenantly at a set speed like, 3k rpm, improve the life of the fan rather than constantly ajusting speed to temperature?
__________________

ender2001 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.