CPU Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default CPU Fan

My Zalman cnps9500 connects to the motherboard with a 3pin adapter. I have the FanMate as well, so I can control the speed. My problem is, is that I don't want to Is there a 3 to 4pin adapter of some sort? My old fan used to speed up, slow down, and etc, but now I just keep it at lowest setting since I'm not sure when to speed up, only sometimes I know I have to, but it's a pain having to turn that little knob all the time. Any ideas?
__________________

Triple-X is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

I would let the motherboard controll the speed.

If you use 4 pin, it will work at full speed if nothing is controlling it.

Here is a converter:

http://sidewindercomputers.com/3to4pinpowad.html
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

No I don't want to connect it to 4pin power supply, I want my 3 pin fan to go straight into the motherboard, so that it can control the speed. That converter basically lets your 3pin fan run straight from the power supply. I want the 3pin fan to connect to the motherboard, so that the motherboard can control the speed of the fan.

I want to go from this:


to this:


My old cpu fan was like pic 2, and it always controlled the fan. Now I have to control it, or if I connect it straight to motherboard then it just goes full speed.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Which mobo do you have? You should be able to just plug it into the mobo using the 3-pin connector. Thats how all of mine are.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 12:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

or get a adapter to change it to a 4 pin molex.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 06:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The motherboard is 3 pin. You plug the panaflo directly into the motherboard.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 05:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 147
Send a message via AIM to Triple-X
Default

My motherboard connector is 4pin. Like picture 2. That's the only connection I have into the motherboard. My mobo is Microstar MS-7046.

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
or get a adapter to change it to a 4 pin molex.
Then there's no point for topic, I'm asking on how to make my motherboard control the fan.
Triple-X is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You might have to purchase a custom cable for that. Email sidewinder, they should be able to make it for you.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.