CPU Dual Cores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default CPU Dual Cores

Quick question: In games, am I going to feel a significant difference between the 3800 X2 and the 4400 X2. There is still a large price difference and I don't want to pay a lot more for something that won't give me a large jump in power. I am also looking into overclocking whatever new processor I decide on buying. I've heard you can overclock the 3800 X2 to the 4800 X2 speed. So, if I got a 4400 X2, for example, would I be able to overclock that further than the 4800 X2? And also, I know Intel has their Extreme Edition dual cores, do you think AMD will come out with a FX dual core in the near future.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 05:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

There's already a dual core fx series(FX-60), you can oc a 4400+ to a
fx-60 fairly easily since its only a 400mhz oc.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 07:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yes you will notice a difference between the 3800 and the 4400. The 3800 only has 512kb of cache for each CPU and the 4400 has 1MB for each. For a 3800 to reach the speeds of a 4800 you need more than a 400MHz increase because of the cache. That being said, get an Opteron. A lot have been known to overclock to roughly the speeds of the FX-60.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Opteron 165 or 170 depending on budget, and overclock to FX-60 speeds
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

its approximately a 500mhz overclock on the x2 3800+ to equal the 4800+. in average games i.e. not dual core optimised or patched for dual core the 4400+ will perform fairly equal to your current cpu.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

So overclocked Opterons are the way to go now huh? They're better than the X2 4400?!
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 12:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea they are
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

Dual cores dont at this time make a great difference in games,but that is only a software issue.
__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cobalt817
Dual cores dont at this time make a great difference in games,but that is only a software issue.
They will be taken advantage of when newer games come out.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 02:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default

Multi-threaded games, correct?
__________________

__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.