CPU Damaged? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2005, 04:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

hey, dont copy my psu
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 04:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -[ZoU]-Kronos
yeah sometimes when i start up my computer, it will come up with a "overclock failed" even though i dont have it OCed. so this could be my psu not putting out enough power? if you guys have the slightest idea on what this could be, please post and save me a extra 300 i might not have to spend becuase i know returning processors isn't easy.
The overclocking failed is just something Asus motherboard's do.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 09:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

all im saying is im going to ring some necks if this is not my psu and it is indeed my processor needing a replacement. do you think newegg will rma if i say i ordered the wrong one and instead found another one anyway? :-) thats if this doesn't work.
__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 10:40 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
hey, dont copy my psu
don't copy it, because it looks good but sux
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 12:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

dont copy it? its the one i had in the first place. its the one that came with my case, i know its not the most trusted brand for psu's but they do indeed look too stylish to pass up.
__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 09-20-2005, 03:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

prolly your cpu
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 02:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

turns out... IT WASN'T my psu. so now i have to pay 300 bux to have my cpu replaced too. just great.... ive never heard of this happening.
__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 09-23-2005, 06:03 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

RMA it dude.....most manufacturers have like 3 year warrenties and crap.

Assuming the CPU has no notable damage when looking at you should be able to get it replaced.

"My CPU stopped working" and just neglect to mention anything else

I'd atleast try an RMA before you bought another.

My first FX5700 died...man I ripped the heatsink off of it, and there were 3 other little micronsinks on it that I ripped off...I bent the card to the point of it cracking because I was pissed and was just gonna break it until a friend said "nah we should blow it up"....then another friend said I should try RMA'ing it....so I freakin super glued the microsinks on, put the main heatsink back on, sent that shiz back and sure enough they sent me another lol...too bad that one died like 6 months later....moral of the story chaintech = crap
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 12:10 AM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 40
Default

what if i dont have my paperwork that came with it in the package.... wouldn't i need that? ive also OCed it before, how do they know if ive done that? lol sorry, ive never RMAd, i just prefer to skip the confusion and drama and just purchase another one except this is 300 bux.
__________________
P4. 3.4ghz
Ultra heatsink&fan
ASUS P4P-800 Deluxe
74 gig Raptor HD
1GB Corsair Dual Channel XMS TWINX 2-2-2-5
Radeon X850XTPE AGP OCed to 579/600
Creative Sound Blaster Live 5.1 CH
ASPIRE X-Superalien Series Case
ASPIRE 500 Watt PSU
Sony Internal 16X DVD+/-R / Double Layer/DVD+/-RW Drive
Logitech X-530 5.1 Surround Sound
Planar PX191 19\" LCD Monitor

3DMARK05 Score: 6296
-[ZoU]-Kronos is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 01:16 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well if you bought it at someplace like newegg...most online stores will have records of your purchases...I know if I log into my newegg account it'll show me my purchase history over the last year+ ....if you bought it from a store then you MIGHT be screwed but the only way you're going to find out is if you contact the manufacturer and see what they require for RMA.....no they can't tell if you OC'd it before, that's why those 'OC'ing voids your warrenty' is pretty much a joke...most of the time the RMA department is just people who pull it out of box, check to see what needs to be replaced, make sure the things not obviously broken or burnt and replace it.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.