CPU Cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 10:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default CPU Cooling

Hey guys I am thinking of buying a Thermaltake Volcano 12+ for my current cpu. will this change the temperature much? If so by about how much? it currently runs at about 37C at idle and 45-48C under load.
Also does RAM copper heatspreaders do much at all (they seem fairly cheap), my ram isn't overclocked and i dont intend to do so.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Ive had pretty good luck with heatspreaders, I say they make a difference

As far as the volcano, it is an excelling HSF. It can drop anywhere from 2C to 10C. Those are nice temps stock, why would you lower them?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Don't forget to buy some earplugs as well. That thing is loud.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

They aren't stock, that's when it's o/c about 400mhz. I still wanna get it to about 33C or even 30C at idle then 38C under load, that would be really nice. I have a pretty average case at the moment, therefore will be upgrading it soon to a Thermaltake Soprano, this will increase the airflow alot, thus making the system cooler.

Is the Volcano 12+ really alot louder than just the start AMD heatsinks?

So heatspreaders work hey? Yeah I was looking at getting some for my RAM, but I'm not sure if they are worth it... Also was thinking of getting one for my HDD.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

I was just thinking...
If I added, Artic Silver 5 Thermal Paste, Thermaltake Volcano 12+ cpu fan and maybe a thermaltake Soprano case... How much do you think my cpu temp would go down by?
Remembering it's about 37C at idle and 45 - 48C under heavy load.
My main aim is to try and get the cpu up to about 2.3-2.4ghz (I know it's asking alot).

Anyway post away!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

whats the ambient temps cos the temp can't go lower than them. i would think that u would get around 33 idle and 40-42 load but thats just an estimate

my a64 runs 28c load (prime 3 hours) with stock at stock and 32c at 2.7ghz
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 04:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

How would you find out the ambient temps?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

hey man u should raise the fsb up dude on that cpu i got the same cpu and mine is on stock voltage at 2.31ghz

YEA ONE MORE THING IN UR SIG IT SAYS UR CACHE IS 512MB LOL ITS KB I HATE TYPOS ALSO BUT I WISH MY CACHE WAS 512MB LOL
burned-ati is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 11:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

but my cpu runs 49c idle! and 54cunder load, pretty hott i know but its not the overclock dont worry i think my cpu is just special or retarded lol becasue it runs at that on stock clocks also with my ultra xp3400 cooler
burned-ati is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 04:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 503
Default

hahah thanks burned ati... stupid typo, good if I had a 512mb cache though! lol!
How's your system going? Running at 49C at idle and all? What cooling setup are you using?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 *Cooled with Thermaltake Mini-Typhoon* || Intel Quad Core Q6600
Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3
2gb Kingston 667 DDR2 RAM || 4gb Kingston 667Mhz DDR2 RAM
Gigabyte 512mb 8800GTS (683/2150)
250gb Seagate HDD (ATA133) 7200rpm/16mb cache || 750gb SATA2 Seagate HDD
ASUS MW221U 22" Widescreen 2ms.
Logitech Z-5500D 5.1 Speakers
Creative X-fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty edition

3DMark06 Score = 8524 (1280x1024)
Syphanx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.