cpu cooler on 9500 pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 02:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Thumbs up cpu cooler on 9500 pro

hey guys i have a 9500 pro and well pretty much the stock cooler is horrible.. so i ripped it out! got off all the old hardened thermal gel stuff put some fresh thermal compund and placed on a copper socket A cpu cooler i can get my core to 360mhz from 277mhz and my memory to 640mhz from 540mhz..but i have a question how would you guys mount ur cooler on?? mine is rubber banded with 3 bands doubled its seems to hold it extremely well but after about a month they dry out and break any suggestions on mounting my cooler on there? heres a pic of a 6600gt with one but i have no idea how he has his mounted.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6600gt ghetto style.jpg (43.0 KB, 31 views)
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

hope you got room in your case cause your going to loose all your pci slots.

Goog luck
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

lol yes i know i did use all of my pci slots there covered up but i do have a micro atx motherboard in a mid tower case haha. im gonna get a knew motherboard anyway
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 04:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

You could use the thermal glue crap. It is pretty damn permanent though...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default wats thermal glue

hey whats thermal glue. iver never heard of it?? where can i get it and how much do i need and how much is it
burned-ati is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Here
Like it says, it is PERMANENT! But on a 9500pro, I would do it.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Thermal Epoxy! I got some....I was still able to rip my SB heatsink off when needed........

Anywho....ZIP TIES ARE YOUR FRIENDS
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Thermal Epoxy!
You say tomato I say tomata.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
You say tomato I say tomata.
Translates into I say it right, you say it wrong

har har, kidding idiotec......I got thermal ceramique and it says 'epoxy' on the tubes, but yeah I went with that instead of AS5 epoxy because frankly, I didn't want to use it since I was epoxying mosfet sinks which are tiny as hell....didn't want to even come close to risk letting that crap leak and messing something up.
Nubius is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 11:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Arctic Silver ASTA-7G (2-PC-SET) Premium Silver Thermal Adhesive - OEM
Based on Newegg we both said it wrong
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.