CPU clock ration? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2005, 07:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73
Default CPU clock ration?

I need some help overclocking my cpu. its and amd athlon 64 3200 when i go into bios and go to frequency the only thing i can change is clock ratio. Im confused on what the its can u help me out.

socom234 is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

well generally the clock ratio is referring to the CPU:RAM which determines if they communicate on the same speed.

Basically it sounds like you don't have a good enough board for OC'ing. You need a board with ample OC'ing options such as vcore voltage, CPU FSB, CPU Multiplier, AGP/PCI lock and things of that nature

Nubius is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 07:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to 4W4K3

What's the rest of your hardware? perticularly what mobo?
<marquee scrollamount=\"1\" scrolldelay=\"8\" direction=\"up\" width=\"400\" height=\"65\" style=\"font-family: Verdana; font-size: 8pt\">
Compaq Presario V5000 laptop
4W4K3 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 73

Ya i don think i do. So should i just for get about overclocking my cpu and stick to overclocking my graphics card a radeon x800 pro
socom234 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782

AGP/PCI lock is almost essential for overclocking. If you dont have that ability, you run into a brick wall very quickly when overclocking, unless you have no pci cards of coarse. I learnt that when i was overclocking with my first motherboard with a crappy VIA Km400 chipset with no Lock.
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.