CPU @ 50% Usage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2009, 10:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default CPU @ 50% Usage

I have an Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHz and was installing a game today. I expected it to be extracting files faster than it was so I did a Ctrl+Alt+Delete in XP Home to see what the CPU usage was. It was hovering around 50%. Is this normal or should it have been at 100%?
__________________

RaXoR is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

What game?

Alot of older games haven't got dual support.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

When installing it shouldnt matter what game or does it support dual core...Only thing that should limit you would be the read speed of the drive its loading from or the write speed of your hard drive!!
__________________
Processor: Core i7 920 4.2Ghz 24/7
Motherboard: EVGA X58 758 SLI
Cooling: Water cooling
Memory: 2x3Gig Kingston Hyper X 2100Mhz
Video Card: XFX GTX285
Harddisk: 2-Seagate Barracuda 250GB in RAID 0
Case: APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X
PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt Modular
Asylum is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

What process was taking 50%?
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

Most new processors are going to outperform the read of the disk. Storage is the bottleneck of most pcs these days.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

I read this as the install program is only running at 50%, so 1 core, not 100% as he expected from his dual.

I'm thinking, old game, older install program which isn't dual core setup.

Or just the install isn't dual core optimized.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 12:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

okay, I was under the impression that he didn't even expect it to take 50% - the only time I'd expect to see a processor pegged (even if it's just one core) is when you're doing load intensive things like processing video or compressing/unpacking large archives like with WinRAR.
SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 01:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

The game is Runes of Magic. Free, and not well-developed.
RaXoR is offline  
Old 04-07-2009, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

Browser based or no? Also, when you looked in the system monitor, what process was using up all the CPU?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-08-2009, 07:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: CPU @ 50% Usage

I'm going to have to say that its pretty normal that an install doesn't use 100% of your cpu. There are many other things your cpu could/is doing during that install.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VERY spiky CPU usage wootwoot HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 12-22-2008 08:30 PM
Which CPU cooler would be most benefical? grkbar New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-28-2008 10:22 AM
Windows XP consistantly running at 50% + CPU Usage Kutabare Microsoft Windows and Software 3 09-05-2008 04:03 PM
*Solved* CPU usage higher at idle. cliffhucker Microsoft Windows and Software 13 03-09-2008 12:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.