Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2008, 03:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

ok so i have a C2D E6750. i have a Gigabyte p35-DS3L MOBO and i usually have it overclocked at 3.6ghz, i was playing crysis the other night and bumped up my 8800 too high and had it restart back to stock (the video card) now when vista loaded, i always click the see more panel and make sure it sias 2.66ghz processor @ 3.6Ghz and it iddn't, so i restarted the computer and went to bios but everything was still the same.... it shows the fsb and clock settings are OC'd but it really isn't, soo i installed EasyTune5 off my mobo disk and that confirmed it was at 2.6 but i installed it to use that to overcdlock it, but THE CPU OC AND MOBO OC TABS WERE GRAYED OUT!!! and then the weirdest **** happens, when i raised the fan too 100% it started reading 2.0ghz, so any help with this situation would be amazing, im very good with computers the hardware and software but i've tried alot and im dumbfounded, but im not gonna restore windows and i don't have a system restore point past that day it happened just to throw that out the window and make it easier ;-) lol
Well thank you guys and much help would be appreciated,
Yours Truley,
Justin Galuszka
__________________

jaygaluszka is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

Perhaps when you reset to stock you enabled speed step allowing for lower processor speeds depending on usage.

Take a look for that in your bios.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

no i said i was editing my video card and it went to high and reset to stock, not my processor, my video card automatically resets to stock, it's just coinsidently at the same time my processor all the sudden didn't show it was overclocking in windows, but would in the bios, and no there is no speed step in my bios, it's pretty simple and myt bios is all setup correctly it's gotta do within windows
jaygaluszka is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

Have you tried resetting your BIOS back to defaults? Tried clearing CMOS? Do that, and then re-do your clocks. Just write down what values you had for each thing, reset, then OC again.

Also, I haven't seen an intel board that doesn't have an option for speedstep...
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

There is no native support for changing cpu clocks within windows...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
There is no native support for changing cpu clocks within windows...
I think he meant that he thinks the problem has to do with something within Windows, not that he can natively OC within windows (although, I could be wrong, but that's how I interpreted it).

Check my above post, Jay, and see if that helps or not.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

exactly carnage, there is no native support, except for some software on my mobo disk but that i already explained in my first post GREYS out the overclock tab.... so um yea i did reset my settings to, i did fail safe options, then optimal, than overlocked, cleared, so once again back to what im sayin think something happened in windows itself.....
jaygaluszka is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

Well, the first mistake you made was buying a Gigabyte motherboard.

It probably just reset itself. Is the option to enable the overclock set to enable?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

wow wait carnage, i have the same exact **** setup as ur gaming one hahahaha, alright check it out guys in case it helps

Xion Blue LED CASE
Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 @3.6
Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
2x1GB G.Skill DDR2-800 @ 1033MHz
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3L (yea carnage u got the we bit better one ;-))
MSI Geforce NX8800 640mb 320bit T2d640e 675/1011
Rosewell 700W PS
42" Sony Plasma Thru DVI
Logitec 5.1 Surround
Seagate 250gb
Western 40gb
jaygaluszka is offline  
Old 04-01-2008, 04:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Core2duo Stopped Overclocking!!!!

metal im not an idiot, and im sry for my rudeness but read my post before posting something like that, i answered that.... and this gigabyte board is very stable and has never givin me problems, it's windows vista, and yes the overide Frequency Clock is enabled and set to 8x 450mhz which equals 3.6ghz Overclock, like i said in my first post, im very good with computers, this is just something i decided to forum post because im very busy recording with it in my studio, i do alot of animation, music, video editing, and some hardcore gaming, i love my rig
__________________

jaygaluszka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
Overclocking a P4 GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 7 02-12-2008 01:27 PM
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
Overclocking my new AM2 6000+ Lord Lihp Overclocking and Modding 16 08-18-2007 10:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.