Core i7 Overclock questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 02:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

turbo mode only runs on single threaded instances if i remember right...

and the only motherboard through bios that can leave it on is the foxconn bloodrage....

watch.. just run intel burn test ... your multi will drop to 20x...

and bong... i've upped the voltage on qpi to 1.6v and uncore to 1.6v and no freaking go.. my boards a dud
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 03:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

NosBoost it seems you don't keep your hardware long at all huh? lol
it's amazing to see these numbers the i7 is pushing out
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 03:35 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by rollingthunder4000 View Post
NosBoost it seems you don't keep your hardware long at all huh? lol
it's amazing to see these numbers the i7 is pushing out
Lol, Nos replaces something every other day.
__________________
||Core 2 Duo E4600 @ 2.4 GHz (OC coming soon) || Biostar TP45HP || 4GB Kingston DDR2 667 RAM ||
Sapphire HD 4670 512mb @778/1140 || Antec Trio 650w || Maxtor 250gb 7200 RPM HDD || Lite-On DVD-RW || Black Aluminum Case||
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 04:18 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

Turbo mode will run all 4 cores at 21x if running cool enough, and will run 1 core at 22x if needed.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
WWS
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 270
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

Well I tried increasing all the voltages. but still cant get it oc'd over 3. One thing I noticed is when I set the boards preset overclock to 3.2, the Vdim voltage was about 1.9V and I thought you cant go over 1.65?

But right know I have another problem maybe someone here could help me with, My post is listed in the troubleshooting section. Thanks
__________________
12 Gb GSkill DDR3 Tripple Channel
2 500 Gb SATA II HD
2 BluRay Burners
2 9800GTX+ in SLI
ASUS Rampage II Extreme
Intel Core i7 920 @3.8 GHz
WWS is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 06:49 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

Look around on xtreme systems forums or hardforums. Theres a lot of people there with the rampage 2.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 01:47 AM   #17 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
and bong... i've upped the voltage on qpi to 1.6v and uncore to 1.6v and no freaking go.. my boards a dud
hmmmm... there's gotta be something you haven't tweaked right (or your board's whack)... i wish i could hook up a couple meters to your board's paths and watch the current and voltage oscillations... i'd bet its some issue with the corrective feedback loop, but i cant say for sure... you might not wanna pump the vQPI so much (not only could it damage it, but the jitter will be bigger), you could also try playing with the PLL voltage
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 06:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Core i7 Overclock questions

already played with PLL voltage.. and have done higher and lower qpi.. i'm telling you.. my board is just a dud...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. Disillusion Overclocking and Modding 19 03-03-2008 01:13 PM
Can you overclock on an ASUS P5B SE? Wease Overclocking and Modding 8 02-13-2008 07:37 AM
Processor confusion Intel Core 2's zwh02 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 01-22-2008 02:29 AM
Core Temp 0.96 mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-06-2008 10:55 PM
Been reading up on Quad Core, few questions Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-14-2007 05:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.