Core clock lower than stock... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Core clock lower than stock...

Core clock stays at around 1.6GHz then goes to 2.66GHz at load.. there is some lagg in the time it takes it to get from 1.6GHz to 2.66GHz.. Can anything be done about this?

__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 07:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

You could try going into BIOS and disabling Intel Speed Step if thats what's causing it.
__________________

MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

^^^ that's exactly it :|

i wish people would read the stickies...like 1-2 post about this per day lol
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

lol yea..but then i wouldn't have any posts to read! lol

^^Hope that helps!
MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 01:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrLoLeR View Post
You could try going into BIOS and disabling Intel Speed Step if thats what's causing it.
Intel Speed Step was disabled in the BIOS.. BUT this was enabled: "C1E Enhanced Halt State"

I believe that setting states weather or not when not under load the CPU voltage is decreased.. I Disabled it and I think that fixed the problem.
StealthTools is offline  
Old 12-21-2008, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

There are 2 different things in bios, speedstep is one, and the other is C1E.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

I really wish new memebrs would read the stickies before posting. We get way to many posts about silly htings like clock speeds and cooling.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

most people don't care to look at stickies
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 05:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Core clock lower than stock...

I know. It's obnoxious.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Temp 0.96 mattchew13 Overclocking and Modding 4 01-06-2008 10:55 PM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750(2) mtslegacy Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-14-2007 09:48 AM
Can't load XP pro with Core 2 duo e6750 mtslegacy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-14-2007 01:57 AM
First Attempt at New Gaming Rig ~ Please Advise Bot2011 New Systems | Building and Buying 40 05-30-2007 06:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.