core clock better then mem clock? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 06:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Question core clock better then mem clock?

ok, so I OCed my GPU to:
Core 3D clock : 379 MHz
Memory clock : 601 MHz
My stock speeds where 300/500 and this OC is stable. I just wanted to know if rising the core clock was more effective on performance the raising the mem clock?
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 06:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Go to www.futuremark.com and get 3DMark05 or 03 and try different OCs to see which one benchmarks higher.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

core is more effective.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 06:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

i ran 3dmark05 with my GPU OCed at the speeds i mentionned earlier and got a score of 2294 - is that ok seeing as how i have a 3.Ghz processor and Gefroce 6600gt?
__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 06:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to reznikvova
Default

I got a 3512 on 3dmark 05 using 6600 gt AGP and a p4 3ghz e
reznikvova is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 10:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

you guys are lucky I can't run it.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 108
Default

o man, i must have been tired when i wrote my last post cuz i have a 3.2Ghz processor and a GeForce 6600 ==> not a 6600gt
sry bout that, the only right thing is the 3dmark05 test score
__________________

__________________
Asus G1 Gaming Laptop
zeroordie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.