Core Center - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2005, 06:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The only configuration utility I touch in Windows is the A64 tweaker, and that is simply due to the numerous extended options avalible from it.

To put it simply you don't have nearly the control or precautions availible through Windows, the risk of instability, file corruption, BIOS and CMOS confliction, and hardware failure are all greatly increased.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

As Gaara said, its a huge liability to OC in windows. I have done it various times. Not with a aftermarket program either. The only aftermarket program i would use for OC is A64 Tweaker. That would be the only program in general to use in windows. I used Abit's Guru OC Utility for OC in windows. I though it wouldent be a problem, since it came with my board. But they all work the same man. I should of took Nubius advice, as you should take ours. Alot of people dont have OC options for their board. So they get desperate, and start DL all these aftermarket programs.

If your board dont have OC options, then its not a OC board. Dont listen to people that OC in windows man. OC in windows gives you a 75% chance of corrupting windows. Thus you must reinstall windows all over. No experienced OC will even try that. Keep it for your BIO's man.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:26 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

Okay... I'll take your advice seriously then. You seem to have tried it a time or two. I will say this though... Core Center came with my motherboard, so I don't exactly *not* trust it, but I might try it only because I am going to reformat my computer before college anyway, so if I screw up Windows with it, no biggy. However, from reading all of the replies to this post, I am not going to overclock in Windows if I care about losing everything. I will save it for the BIOS just as you've said.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 09:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

dude, he has an MSI board and Core Center comes with all the newer boards, as long as he has the newest version he can safely overclock, and yes his board supports overclocking.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 10:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

I may give it a shot and report back and let everyone know how it works. Might now though... I am undecided.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 01:04 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

The BIOS comes with his motherboard as well mate.

Quite frankly do you ever wonder why DFI hasn't included any such utility with their lanparty series, which are undisputably the best overclockers around. Think about that for a second.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

There BIOS may not be made to work with such programs well? I've never had problems using the MSI core center with there boards unless i was forced to reset the BIOS because i changed something in there stopping it from posting.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 07:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's because real overclockers don't use things like what corecenter is about, which is windows based OC'ing......and most people use MBM5 or Speedfan 5 as far as temps go....basically corecenter is a decent idea, but in reality is useless software much like ABits Uguru crap.....they should have left out this "Friendly overclocking!" junk and built it hardcore like DFI did....this is why ABit went from damn good OC'ing boards for the socket A, to even behind MSIs Neo2 plat in terms of OC'ing....
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.