Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 05:46 PM   #81 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah and btw that mobo will go 1066/800MHz w/ the DDR2 standard at 800. so yeah you can get DDR2-800 ram so problem. and even OC it up to 1066 if you wanted/could.

EDIT that's also the ram i was telling you to get over the 4-5-4-15 timed ram. it's a little cheaper and better. but once again you might have to set timings manually.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:59 PM   #82 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

hmm, well i guess ill try and free up some room for the ds3, but the thing is that motherboard is like 75 bucks cheaper after rebate...
ok i did some budgeting, and i cut out from my mouse and power supply. Anyone see any problems with this PSU?http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817138002
so i was able to fit the DS3 into my budget. So if anyone could comment on the reliability of that PSU I would be thankful. Im ordering this tomorow afternoon, so i need some feedback. The reviews on new egg all said it was exelent, but i don't want to get one that will fry everything. Ill look at zipzoom fly for better deals on RAM, tigerdirect charges tax in NC
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 09:51 PM   #83 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

that post is getting filled up so heres a new one. I found this RAM at ZZF with a rebate and free shipping.
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80061-9
it looks good, anyone know about that brand?
and tigers prices for ddr2 800 are way too high.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 10:02 PM   #84 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

DO NOT get that PSU. PSU's are the last thing you wanna cheap out on. if you get a bad one it's more likely to break or something. if that happens...hope you didn't like you're system cuz about all of it's going to be getting replaced.

and the ballistics are pretty good from what i hear. what's your budget? and specs for it?
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 10:05 PM   #85 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

well im trying to save some money to get that DS3 MoBo. I cut down from an antec smartpower for 70 dollars to the one there, and thats what got it into my range. So im gonna see if i can take 10 dollars here and there.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 10:39 PM   #86 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well what are your other specs? cuz then i could help if you want.

you could always jsut do what i'm doing now. only get a 1gb stick and then upgrade to another later when you've got the money. that'd probably free up $70-130 depending on how much $ you were gonna spend to begin with.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 02:52 PM   #87 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default P5B-Deluxe / 1GB Patriot 6400 / E6400

I have been only able to reach 2.9Ghz (Load OS and Desktop, run CPUz, surf a bit...then crash!) Prime95 is out of the question.

Right now I am running Rock-solid at 2.6Ghz @ 1.408V. Idle temp is 39C, load is 51C (24hrs Prime95). I ran Prime95 for 36 hours (approx) and found that the temp range and fluctuations remain the same.

Here are some particulars:

8 x 325 = 2600 (FSB = 1300) / 1.408V / 39C-51C
RAM @ 406 / 2.05
4:5 RAM divider
PCI-E Clock locked @ 100Mhz
PCI locked @ 33.3Mhz
Disabled Spread Spectrum
Disabled EIST
Disabled C1E

P5B users will need to re-flash the BIOS to ver. 0507 to unlock some of the options.

I would like to run 24/7 at 2.8 - 2.9 Ghz, but I will have to fiddle with the CPU settings.

Does anyone out there have any suggestions. I am not trying to break records, but would like to run at psuedo-E6800 speeds

I believe that the the vCore shouldn't run above 1.45V and the CPU temp should stay below 60C. Is that accurate?

I have read that using a lower multi can help. I was using x7, but Prime kept failing, maybe due to the RAM divider - an aspect that I am still learning about.

Please share your experience and knowledge if you are so inclined. Thanks.
__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 03:09 PM   #88 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

well i found where i needed to take away forom, it was my video card. I was spending way more than i needed for the same specs on a card. I freed up enough money for the MoBo and that g0skill ram, unfortunately the video card was such a deal new egg sold out by the next morning! so now im looking for another video card around the low 100's. I may save some money by getting a smaller hard drive, those are cheap enough that i can add one easily later on.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:05 PM   #89 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: P5B-Deluxe / 1GB Patriot 6400 / E6400

Quote:
Originally posted by Syrillian
I have been only able to reach 2.9Ghz (Load OS and Desktop, run CPUz, surf a bit...then crash!) Prime95 is out of the question.

Right now I am running Rock-solid at 2.6Ghz @ 1.408V. Idle temp is 39C, load is 51C (24hrs Prime95). I ran Prime95 for 36 hours (approx) and found that the temp range and fluctuations remain the same.

Here are some particulars:

8 x 325 = 2600 (FSB = 1300) / 1.408V / 39C-51C
RAM @ 406 / 2.05
4:5 RAM divider
PCI-E Clock locked @ 100Mhz
PCI locked @ 33.3Mhz
Disabled Spread Spectrum
Disabled EIST
Disabled C1E

P5B users will need to re-flash the BIOS to ver. 0507 to unlock some of the options.

I would like to run 24/7 at 2.8 - 2.9 Ghz, but I will have to fiddle with the CPU settings.

Does anyone out there have any suggestions. I am not trying to break records, but would like to run at psuedo-E6800 speeds

I believe that the the vCore shouldn't run above 1.45V and the CPU temp should stay below 60C. Is that accurate?

I have read that using a lower multi can help. I was using x7, but Prime kept failing, maybe due to the RAM divider - an aspect that I am still learning about.

Please share your experience and knowledge if you are so inclined. Thanks.
It sounds weird, but the P5B D has had problems with FSB settings in the 300 range. People have had OC's unstable at 350 or something, but then are fine at 401+.

I would try going straight to 401FSB with RAM 1:1 and see what happens.

Also make sure your RAM has plenty of juice. Most boards will not set vdimm correctly for PC6400 RAM as it usually takes like 2.0-2.1 vdimm.

You might want to give a little boost to NB/FSB voltage as well.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:42 PM   #90 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Yes i saved all the money i needed! I even have 20 dollars left in my budget, is it worth it to get aftermarket cooling for my e6300, or would i need more money for something better than my stock fan/heatsink?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.