Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2006, 01:47 PM   #71 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Am I misunderstanding something about overclocking the C2Ds?

They all use DDR2 667 by default. Which means if you use DDR2 800, the RAM doesn't get overclocked until you reach a 400MHz FSB. Or does DDR2 not work the same way as OCing the A64s? Why worry about how well your DDR2 800 overclocks, if you can overclock the CPU bloody far before you even touch the RAM?

And yes, I know you have to set a 1:1 divider (hehehehe, 1:1 divider ) for it to work that way. But why would you want your RAM to run faster than the CPU. It's like lowering the multi on a A64, and increasing the FSB to get back to stock CPU speeds, just for the sake of overclocking the RAM. Yes, increased bandwidth is a bonus, but you might as well OC the CPU while you're increasing your bandwidth, for the optimal performance gain.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 01:54 PM   #72 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
Am I misunderstanding something about overclocking the C2Ds?

They all use DDR2 667 by default.
DDR2 800 is common:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012


they are therefore overclocking (making the ram faster) than the stock speeds...(ie 1000mhz) and gettin away with it no problem...
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:02 PM   #73 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231065


read the reviews. oc's like a son a' biatch
yeah i saw those, they're just too far out of my budgets reach, i might go with the lesser model from g skill, but again, people are complaining about them. I think what im not getting through to people is i just wanna OC the cpu about as far as i can easily get it on stock cooling with now stability problems. I don't need to overclock my RAM that much, im more worried about the cpu. I wanna get fx-62 performance out of my e6300 if i can, but it's gonna be such a jump up from this 2.8 ghz pentium 4, and my 512mb of RAM that im going to be very satisfied no matter what.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:05 PM   #74 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
yeah i saw those, they're just too far out of my budgets reach, i might go with the lesser model from g skill, but again, people are complaining about them. I think what im not getting through to people is i just wanna OC the cpu about as far as i can easily get it on stock cooling with now stability problems. I don't need to overclock my RAM that much, im more worried about the cpu. I wanna get fx-62 performance out of my e6300 if i can, but it's gonna be such a jump up from this 2.8 ghz pentium 4, and my 512mb of RAM that im going to be very satisfied no matter what.
Ah..but overclocking your cpu automatically overclocks your ram as well, unless you run a memory divider...which affects performance...
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 03:26 PM   #75 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

so my RAM could hold me back potentially, if it dosn't overclock well? So is it just the RAM overclocking, or does the RAM need to be higher to perform better. Like say which will do better overclocked 667 or stock 800?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:25 PM   #76 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

DDR2-800 will do better.

when you OC your processor you'll be upping the FSB to get the Ghz up. when you do that you also up the FSB on the ram.

so if your CPU is @ 6x333 (6 times @ 333FSB, which is also DDR2-667) then that gives you 2 Ghz.

you run it the same except @ DDR2-800 (400FSB) then you get 2.4Ghz.

then if you get the ram to OC up to the 1000Mhz that the CPU is capable of then you'll be maxing out the OC.

hope that helps. and i don't think the E6300 has an unlockable multiplier so that's about the only way to OC that i know of. my knowledge of OCing is fairly basic.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:41 PM   #77 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

ok, that kinda helps out, my knowledge of overcloking is almost none. I think my motherboard only has options to up fsb to 333 though, so that may hold me back. I don't have the money for the DS3. i found RAM i can afourd with 4-4-4-15 timings, how well will that overclock? And so from what i can get the only way i can overclock my e6300 is by increasing fsb, and then further increasing the fsb on my RAM or is that wrong?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:17 PM   #78 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well with intel chips you pretty much need to keep the memory FSB and the cpu FSB the same or you'll run into problems...so yes.

and what mobo do you have anyways? i find it hard to believe that they hade conroe mobo's w/ only a 333FSB max.

and there might be other ways to OC, that's the only way i've done it so far.

and about the ram. if it's 4-4-4-12 it'd be better but you can never really tell just by the timings because the ram might be OC'd to that spec already and it could be down clocked to that too. (that's kinda what the G.Skill i was talking about earlier is like.)

so what's the ram because i'm sure you can loosen up timings and probably OC the ram a little but it really depends on what model and brand it is too.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:20 PM   #79 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Well acording to a reviewer the FSB only goes to 333. Heres the MoBo and RAM i have picked out

MoBo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135022

RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227139
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 05:44 PM   #80 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
Well acording to a reviewer the FSB only goes to 333. Heres the MoBo and RAM i have picked out

MoBo:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135022

RAM:http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227139
Your really going to limit yourself with that mobo. A DS3 would only be $50 more and would give you much more OC capability.

I am sure you can find a better deal for some RAM, check beyond newegg.

With that board, the most you can get from the e6300 is going to be 2.33GHz. With a DS3 you have a very good chance of running it 24/7 at 2.8GHz or more.

Up to you
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.