Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 11:12 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

^Nah, auto is 2:3 for our boards.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:18 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

really? wow....

My mistake
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Model:e6300
MotherboardS3
Vcore:stock
Cooling:stock
Stability:fine

running @ 2.45GHZ, super pi is 23 seconds. Primed for 24 hours, everything is fine. My games keep crashing though, but I suspect it is the video card.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 02:18 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Auto will set a ratio to get the memory to run at its rated speed. Only DDR2-533 memory would be 1:1 on auto setting.

I suggest you set 1:1 manually, then overclock to see where that puts the memory. The penalty of running at a non-1:1 ratio is pretty high for Intels.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-27-2006, 07:38 AM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

all you rich people and your C2D, you leave me with a P4 prescott behind in benchmarks, please donate all unused e6300/e6600, thank you :P

well, i r planning on getting a e6300 since i have a rosewill Z2 fan.
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 03:42 AM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I can't seem to get the FSB above 378, but here's the weird part, it's totally stable at 378x9, I can run Prime95 all week long, it's that stable. One mhz up and Windows crashes, and if I do it in the BIOS, it wont post, then it will try again and settings with be reset.

I mean, I'm happy and all with 3.4Ghz, and I can run it on stock cooling, as it never gets above 52 at FULL FULL load, but I'd like to get to 4Ghz if possible.

Any other tips? I've messed around with RAM and voltage and nothing seems to work.
The General is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 06:34 AM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

meh
...
...
...
...
look kwik
someone who cares
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:50 AM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Cute, shall I make fun of you?

Nah, that'd be immature.
The General is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:55 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mophead740
meh
...
...
...
...
look kwik
someone who cares
If it does not interest you, maybe staying out of the OC section would be a good choice for you.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:16 PM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
I can't seem to get the FSB above 378, but here's the weird part, it's totally stable at 378x9, I can run Prime95 all week long, it's that stable. One mhz up and Windows crashes, and if I do it in the BIOS, it wont post, then it will try again and settings with be reset.

I mean, I'm happy and all with 3.4Ghz, and I can run it on stock cooling, as it never gets above 52 at FULL FULL load, but I'd like to get to 4Ghz if possible.

Any other tips? I've messed around with RAM and voltage and nothing seems to work.

Ok. Lets see. Try loosing the ram timings a little bit. Also you might need more voltage.


Im guessing your at 1.45?
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.