Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 08:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General


Why didn't anyone tell me to up the voltage? I was being so skimpy! It totally solved my stability problems, Now I am stable at 3.4ghz! I just need better cooling!
Now that is more like it

What is actual vcore?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It was 1.48, it was a bit more stable at 1.5, I hit 3500mhz on 1.5, but it was so unstable I couldn't even run SuperPI 1M without Windows crashing, I'll try this again when I get better cooling, until then, 3.4 is my limit. It was running at like 50c, is that too high?

And what kind of RAM do you have?
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

50*C full load under Prime95 at 3.4Ghz? Youre lucky, lol.
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 08:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

When was it running 50c? If that's dual Prime, yeah, you are extremely lucky with stock cooling and that vcore. But I must say, I doubt that

My goal is to keep dual prime temps under 60c. Under all normal circumstances, it stays in the 50's.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
wow.. these core 2 duo's overclock like monsters.. i am sure i'll be satisfied with a e6300 now... i'm glad i've waited to see first hand reviews on these forums.. i was considering the e6600, but with the looks of this.. i will settle for the 6300
I believe the e6400 is the best bang for the buck...the 6300 is "not really a conroe" from some sources.....
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Neither is the 6400 if youre talking about the Allendale thing.

Theyre all the same core. Some have the extra 2MB cache disabled/removed.

If nothing else, they dont have to be Conroes. Theyre Core 2 Duos, and that should be all that matters?
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:21 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Did some more research...im wrong ...your right....half cache disabled... enjoy
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Funny thing is, the Allendales overclock to about the same point as the Conroes. The 4MB cache doesnt make THAT big of a difference, only in SuperPi.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Who the **** cares.

Its a cpu that freaking rips anything out there.

My opteron is more then enough for me right now so enjoy those conroes and your fancy ddr2 memory


General. Dude. Sub 13 second Pi times. Now.

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:50 PM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Who said anything about Prime95? I hate it, it fails at stock speeds on all my computers. Prime95 is BS. I did SuperPI 32M at 3.4ghz and it was 52c.

When I get better cooling, I'll shoot for sub 13s, Lord AnthraX.

EDIT: Actually I forgot, I ran Prime95 from 3AM to 11AM and it didn't fail, that was at 3.2ghz, 3.4 failed instantly at 1.48v, but stood out for like hour at 1.5. This was like really late last night, I totally forgot about that.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.