Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 19 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2006, 02:43 AM   #181 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Default

so do you guys see a huge difference in performance or gaming or multi tasking after OCing it ?? in example from 2.1 E6400 to 2.8 or 3.2 it seems like you guys are hitting, do you guys see good gains ? ? just curious if I should OC, I mostly download and encode video, gonna start editing video later on, and as far as games, I don't play much but I do have CS source installed. will CS run faster and encoding go much faster ??

sorry if these are noob questins. but thank you!!
__________________

continu is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:52 AM   #182 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by continu
so do you guys see a huge difference in performance or gaming or multi tasking after OCing it ?? in example from 2.1 E6400 to 2.8 or 3.2 it seems like you guys are hitting, do you guys see good gains ? ? just curious if I should OC, I mostly download and encode video, gonna start editing video later on, and as far as games, I don't play much but I do have CS source installed. will CS run faster and encoding go much faster ??

sorry if these are noob questins. but thank you!!
YES! F.E.A.R. @ max settings/res on widescreen monitor (-Soft Shadows and FSAA) = 80FPS, HL2:E1 @ full-blown settings = 100-120 FPS

E6400 @ 3.2 / RAM @ stock; 7900GT @ 660/1832

They look awesome!
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 11:57 AM   #183 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

^ Yeah at first I thought I was getting like 30FPS in FEAR at 1680x1050 with everything on max, but I realized that it just looked like it ... because FEAR is just a lame engine. Fraps says I'm getting ~85FPS. I have my 7900GT at 675/800
The General is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 09:47 PM   #184 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

well ive got some bad news. When i put everything together it turns out a faulty PSU fried my motherboard and who knows what else. I guess i just got unlucky. Took it to a local computer shop owner and he examined it, and figured out it was a pad power supply. He tried replacing it and it still wouldn't run. He told me to send it all back to new egg, saying that there is no way to tell how much got damaged, unless i continually RMA each part that doesn't work. So now im gonna have to go through that process, and i don't know how long that will take.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 10:42 PM   #185 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

well on the bright side you might be able to get your money back and re-buy a C2D for cheaper now that prices dropped slightly.

BTW what PSU did you have?
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 06:34 AM   #186 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

It was an antec smartpower, so i was pretty surprised. Hopefully everything goes through well. Am i gonna have to pay that 15% restocking fee?
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 09:44 AM   #187 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 41
Default

Ok guys, I have to say the C2D is awesome!!!

As some of you might know, since I'm still fairly new here you probably don't, I do a lot of video encoding.

My results thus far: sorry no picture.

My P4 2.8 took about 2+hours to encode about 700mb size into an .ISO or dvd formatt etc. (video+sound) this is with PASS 1 only

My new E6400 at stock 2.1 took 35mins!!!! to encode video+sound!!! thats about 4x faster than my P4!!!!

I'm loving it!!! And plus this is something that I built...I feel good.

I'm very curious now how fast it would be if I OC it to 3.2 ^_^ maybe 35min can go to about 25min ? wishful thinking yea?

I'll keep you guys informed!!!!
continu is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:40 AM   #188 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
It was an antec smartpower, so i was pretty surprised. Hopefully everything goes through well. Am i gonna have to pay that 15% restocking fee?
That really sucks man. To be honest i'm shocked that an antec would break so soon. Are you sure it put out enough power for the system? Antec True Power PSU's are better if you can get your money back.

But yeah that really sucks man.

I can't say for sure if you'll have to pay the restocking fee but i personally don't think you should have to. It's kinda messed up if you have to since it's not really your fault it went bad. My advice is to tell them that you're going elsewhere if you have to pay restocking fees that aren't your fault to begin with.

+++++++++++++++++++++

that's great continu. my superpi times with and without a 3.2ghz OC are roughly this if it helps:

3.2Ghz OC: 19 sec
2.13 Stock: 26-28 sec (offhand)

anyways i'm showing you this because that the top performance the processor can do. I'm guessing your encoding results will be similiar to that ratio. good luck.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 12:00 PM   #189 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
It was an antec smartpower, so i was pretty surprised. Hopefully everything goes through well. Am i gonna have to pay that 15% restocking fee?
Was it within 30 days? You should be able to get a full refund for everything.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 03:25 PM   #190 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
Was it within 30 days? You should be able to get a full refund for everything.
oh well thats sweet, it hasn't even been a week yet. We were worried because it said something about DOA processors costing a 15% resotcking fee for RMA's. Ill get on the phone with Newegg tonight and see. And to jordo, it was a 500w PSU, i have no doubt it put out enough power, it just started smoking the first time we turned it on. Upon further inspection a technician saw that it was all burned up. Oh and the technician said to stay away form SATA hard drives over 250gb, saying that they die in like 6 months. Anyone had any trouble with that?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.