Core 2 Duo Overclocking Thread - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2006, 03:24 AM   #121 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Is there a sub £130 ($280) Motherboard that anyone could recomend for an E6300/E6400 as I have about £300 to spend, and I dont know whether to go down the Core 2 route or go AMD, so tempt me with good motherboards!

Ruan
__________________

RGELLIS is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:07 AM   #122 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

there are lots of people here using a gigabyte DS3 and OCing very well. otherwise the ASUS PW5's are better but not as good of a price/performance ratio.

definately go C2D though. you can OC an E6300 past AMD's best processor w/ most everything stock. (that AMD processor is over 4 times more than an E6300.)
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:23 AM   #123 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I'm done testing, and went for an nForce 4 SLI X16 board (the Asus) ... mostly because it has lots of features (me likes features ) and it has a fully supported (in Linux) IDE controller with two slots ... oh and it's SLi.

I'll post back about it's overclocking capabilities, but I'm not expecting much. Either way, the E6600 is faster than an FX-62 at stock speeds most of the time so I'm still happy.
The General is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 04:44 AM   #124 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

hey general, thanks again for the help w/ the computer. i literally just installed pro x64 on my new rig. I didn't have any way to remove the stock HSF's thermal pad when i was installing it so i'll be adding AS5 to it in a few weeks when i go back home and can get some stuff.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 06:07 AM   #125 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

hey guys. well i've run into the noob problem of not knowing BIOS very well. my specs are below and i've installed all the newest drivers for my hardware.

I was told to up the voltage on my ram to 2.1V from 1.8V the stock settings have them set at. did that.

now here's my problem i open up CPUZ and it tells me that my ram is running at DDR2-800 (good) but at 5-5-5-18 or something crappy like that. how do i fix that?

it also shows that my motherboard/cpu is running at DDR2-667 speeds and i want to bump that up to DDR2-800.

sorry to ask in here but i can't find screenshots or anything in th OCing guides i've looked at and i don't wanna ruin my new system.

thanks guys.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:27 AM   #126 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

To remove the gray thermal pad from the heatsink, rub it off with a paper towel, or a terry cloth towel if you're a freak-show and think paper towels scratch metal.
The General is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 11:51 AM   #127 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

ok i might try that. it's probably melted down now though as i've been running the computer for about 10 hours now. will that get it all off or should i wait to get some "isoprople" or whatever it's called to get it all off?
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 01:03 PM   #128 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Rubbing acohol? Nah, just rub it off with a paper towel, it will all come off.
The General is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 03:03 PM   #129 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

well the only thing with that RAm is that(and i haven't seen those in particular) they are probably 5-5-5-12, or 4-5-4-12. I had OCZ RAM picked out, but i changed to the g skill because from what ive heard they overclock very well. Being able to overclock your RAM is pretty important, because that alows you to put your procesor up higher too. See what the timings are for that OCZ. 4-4-4-12 are optimal for overclocking. And read the reviews, see if people were ablt to overclock with it well.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 09-11-2006, 05:38 PM   #130 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

my ram is G.Skill though. I probably didn't update my sig when you posted. here's the link.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231063

all i really need to know is how to change timings in bios and how to change the FSB of my mobo and cpu up to 400 because i'm running a 2:3 memory divider right now.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.