Cord 2 Quad?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2011, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default Cord 2 Quad??

Hey Everyone, so I just upgraded my computer to a Core 2 Quad 2.67GHz from a Core 2 Duo.. It seems like its not running faster than before? I have DDR2 4GB Ram in my system also.

Any pointers?
__________________

__________________
-B-
cyclones is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Cord 2 Quad??

A quad shines when you throw a lot at it. Until then you won't notice a huge speed increase unless you C2D was a lot less than 2.67GHz.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-05-2011, 05:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Cord 2 Quad??

Yep, you notice the performance increase on a quad when you do intensive multitask. For apps/games that use only one or two cores, without running anything in the background, you won't see a big performance boost, unless the dual core speed is lower than the quad.
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with VGA cord!! Ruran Microsoft XBox 2 09-03-2008 05:54 PM
eight core, Quad SLI =O, quad sli is back TheEnd187 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 09-25-2007 09:29 PM
AMD's 65nm Quad Core... TRUE QUAD! cwiz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 15 02-18-2007 02:41 AM
Two way VGA cord? Max Power Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 10-29-2006 01:08 AM
What the **** is this cord for? Jayce Off Topic Discussion 15 01-07-2006 09:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.