Cooooooling!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default Cooooooling!!!

ok i want to oc my cpu and gc and i want it to stay cool....... its an amd 3200+ venice i was wondering if i if the price to performace for water coolling is worth it i f not i would like a price on a new cpu fan/heatsink or a water cooling system... thanks in advance
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

huh? Are you saying you're considering a new processor? Or are you trying to overclock? What's goin on? Clarification, please... The 3200+ is a good processor.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

water cooling i think you will be able to overclock a bit more than with a fan.....

how heavily do you want to over clock ?? is this a gaming pc ??

-=edit=-

if its a gaming pc i rekon you should upgrade your gfx card before you think about cooling and a bit more ram would do nicely
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

If you can, invest in a chilled water cooling system, or better yet, dry ice or liquid nitrogen. Read more about different types of cooling here:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...splay.php?f=10
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 12:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

PHASE CHANGE its cheap to make (if u do home made) and it will get u into those nice -10 to -150 numbers depending on how extreme urs is (-150 is a triple cascade setup)
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FghtinIrshNvrDi
huh? Are you saying you're considering a new processor? Or are you trying to overclock? What's goin on? Clarification, please... The 3200+ is a good processor.

Ryan
i already have it in my computer and i was going ot atempt an oc but im still trying to convinve my mom to let me get a new graphics card and some more memory
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 04:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sh0r_ty
PHASE CHANGE its cheap to make (if u do home made) and it will get u into those nice -10 to -150 numbers depending on how extreme urs is (-150 is a triple cascade setup)
ok thanks for the info but do you have a tutitorial for this i would like to try that amybe if i think me and my father could complete it ...
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 05:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

ask about that here:
http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...splay.php?f=10
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

Thanks mannn!!! i can always use another forum to talk on !!!! NO thats not sarcasm !!!!
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 07:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

On the venice core Athlon's you can get some nice clocks with stock cooling. Try it with stock then if you see a huge temperature increase, invest in some after market cooling. You can go out and buy the Zalman 7000cu here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835118113
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.