Cooling tube back in!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2006, 05:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Cooling tube back in!!

welp, i decided i'm going to put the cooling tube back in my case now that i got my wires a bit more tidy... and oh what a difference it made in temps!! my idol went from 34 to what is now jumping from 28 to 29.. insane drop it gave me... i had no idea..

with that being said, i guess its time to starting oc'ing again.. but i can't get this x2 past 2.6 ghz.. i have ddr500 ram.. i don't really see the problem here.. i've had the ram oc plent.. up to ddr580 before.. but now it just doesnt seem to wanna do anything higher than 2.6.. i havent tried with the cooling tube on.. but i probably will get back to that.. hopefully all goes well.. if i do come back, i'm hoping to see some suggests because i know i'm going to fail doing so.. here are my system specs to give a better look... and keep in mind i've had my opteron 146 at 2.93 ghz.. actually i had 3.0 but it was in no way stable...

Mobo: ABiT KN8 SLi
Vid: Sapphire x1900xt
Proc: AMD Athlon x2 3800+
Ram: 2 GB G.Skill DDR 500

that should give a nice general idea... so if anyone could help me, it would be greatly appreciated...

and yes... yes i have tried running it with a higher core clock.. i've went up to 1.52 or something of the sort... and it shouldnt need to go that high for 2.65....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 10:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

**** man, my processors stock voltage is 1.5 :P

Anyways, id just try givin it either a bit more voltage or see if you can change the multiplyer.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

Ya, you should get it past 2.6ghz. I would imagine 2.7-2.8ghz would be fine on stock cooling.

1gb sticks need a lot more power than 512mb sticks, so don't be afraid to send 2.1-2.2v to it in order to stabilize it. Up your cpu voltage by .1-.2v. Up your ram timings across the board 1-2 points. If you do all of this, you will find your max potential very quickly.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 06:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

umm... my ram is far higher than 2.2v.. its stock is 2.6...

i took my cpu up to 2.7 ghz today with 1.58v and still wasnt stable...... i think i just got a crappy stepping... maybe these new amd pricecut processor suck at oc'ing or something...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 176
Default

I thought you had ddr2, which has lower voltages. I run my ddr at 2.7-2.8v.
StillwaterIT is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default

hmmm, thats strange, its should overclock, but maybe its your mobo not letting it overclock much...
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

can't be the mobo.. it let my opteron 146 go to 3.0 ghz
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 129
Default

I have one question : Whats a cooling tube?
GreenTeaBagger is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Wow thats seriously the best avatar ever.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 04:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default



that would be the cooling tube.. nice little feature that came with my case.. and thats an old picture =P
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.