Cooling - Overclocking E6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default Cooling - Overclocking E6600

Ok guys,

Here is the deal. This is the first time I have tried overclocking a CPU.

When I went to the BIOS, there were some overclocking profiles. So, first I chose the 5% profile. Everything was stable.

Then I did another run at 10% profile. Each core is running now at 2.63 Ghz which I guess is ok.

All this is done with Stock cooling. The temperatures for CPU is showing 51 C constant. But I am using some utility called sensor something for measuring the temps.

I don't think they are correct temp. Anyways, when I go home I will use the all time recommended Core Temp utility and check again.

I want to know if I use the Zalman 9500 cooler, how much difference will it make. Also provide me any other suggestion on OC'ing if you can.

Regards.
__________________

jainischalverma is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

Zalmans make a huge diffrence from stock cooling. I have zalmans on both my CPU and GPU and both of their stock idle temps are now their Zalman Load temps.

It might make a diffrence on the case fans and room temp, but usually they improve alot.
__________________

__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default

So tell me something here.

Should I go by the overclocking profiles to overclock or do it manually ?
jainischalverma is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
fzk
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 42
Default

manually.. its takes a little longer, and is more complex (not really thou) but it gives you a much better OC
__________________
http://www.fiziks.org/images/sig.gif
AMD 4400+ X2 @ 2.475GHz
ASUS a8n Premium
eVGA 7900GS @ 635/821
Corsair XMS 2GB
2x200GB WD/Maxtor
Thermaltake Armor w/ 25cm sidefan
Zalman CPU/GPU cooling
fzk is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 04:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 943
Default

i honestly think that manual overclocking is the only way to go provideing you do your research before you start it means you can actually understand what is being done to your system. for instance i know that the overclocking utility on my asus mobo just maxes vcore and vdimm which isnt efficiant and if the limits wern;t so crap it could do damage.
__________________
AMD 64 939 3200+@2.7ghz
ASUS A8N-SLI DELUX htt@270X5
Segate 120gig SATA
1gig PC3200 Geil Value Ram Duel Channel@ddr480 3-3-3-8
Gigabyte 6600GT-PCI-E@580/1.3
Sh0r_ty is offline  
Old 11-17-2006, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I really need to know steps how to overclock manually on my Asus P5W DH Deluxe board. When I go manual, its a bit confusing.

Anyone using this board and overclocking... please give tips.
__________________

jainischalverma is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.