Cooling Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default Cooling Help

Ok so I've got an AMD64 3200 socket 939 chip with an X800 XT AIW vid card. My motherboard is an Abit AV8 Guru. I have 1 front 120MM case fan blowing in. I have 1 back 120MM case fan blowing out. I have 1 fan stock cooling on the chip and have not overclocked at all. I have 1 fan on the X800 which came with it. And I have my power supply fan. So all in all I have 5 fans. I have had temps of 76 C ?! Now I noticed on Abits forum that they have had trouble with this motherboards therm readings. This might be the case. But, To lower this temp reading what should I do? I have PCI slots left would either one of these work?

http://www.coolerguys.com/840556041894.html

http://www.coolerguys.com/840556017165.html

Or maybe both in combination?

Help anybody!
__________________

__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Also Can I adjust the speed of my cpu fan through my bios? If yes then what else should I know about this? Will it affect anything else? On my motherboard with my stock cooling through my bios will changing the fan speed hurt anything?
__________________

__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

How about a reply from somebody other than myself?!
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

dang man ain't seen a triple post in a while! with all that cooling it should run under normal specs. i think it's mostlikly the thermal sensor.
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yeah, I would ignore it myself, as you have good cooling. Do you have stock heatsink with the thermalpad/nice thin layer of thermal compound covering the cpu?

My cpu used to read 12*C as idle temps for a while, but my BIOS was corrupt a few days later, so that was probally just the bios going dodgy. If you are worried about it, then you can get a thermal probe to go onto the heatsink and tell you the real temps (it would be a couple of degrees above, due to it not being dirrectly on the core.


Don't bother getting the pci coolers, they are only half good at cooling video cards.



btw. haxer, look at your sig, you put bg instead of gb.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Question though. How do I get it to read the correct temp. My board is An Abit AV8 Guru for an AMD 64 socket 939. I noticed on Abit's board that they have been having probs with this. What's the fix?
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Also will increasing my stock cooling fans speed help? I can do this through the bios. And if so by how much rpm? I do have stock cooling on the cpu with antec 5. Similar to arctic silver. I am just shocked that its reading so high at 76C!?
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

76C? That can't be good for the hardware. If possible, take your cover off, it'll lower the temperature by about 1-2 degrees. Also make sure your room is cool at the time, to keep the temp. down as well. I've seen people actually drill holes in their cases and install little 2 x 2 inch electrical fans, they just plug em up to a socket. Get creative man.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 10:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Check this site out. Its a definite bug with this board...

http://forum.abit-usa.com/showthread...&pagenumber=26

Post beyond post of people with the same problem! I warn people don't get this board. I wish I could remember who suggested this board to me! It was on this board to! Thanks alot fellas!
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 11:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

www.guru3d.com

go to download section and get speedfan and mbm5
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.