Cooling - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2005, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default Cooling

Hey guys. I'm new here and wanted to know some good ways to cool down my pc. I have a Compaq Presario, and it's fairly new, but the CPu runs at about 45C with no load. Every once in awhile it'll drop down abit, but no lower hten 43C. It only have 1 fan in it, and was thinking about getting some more for it, but wasn't sure if that'd be the best way to go. Also, I'd like to OC abit. I have 1G RAM, a 2.8Ghz Intel Celeron D, and have no clue about my mother board or video card. I want a new video card, but figured I might OC my current one abit until I can afford the new one (6800GT hopefully). What would you guys recommend I OC for gaming? And what would be the best way to cool it (which kinds of fans). Thanks



BTW- I'm having problems running BF2 on ym pc. I install it and launch it, but nothing plays. Any ideas as to what's wrong?
__________________

RadRacer is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I don't think you can overclock Prebuilts, I know that is a fact for dells, but most prebuilt manufacturers lock those BIOS settings.

If the case has extra fan slots such as back fan and front fan depending on thier size it is easy to buy fans for it. You could also look to changing to a better heatsink and fan depending on the Socket type.

If your board has a AGP or PCI E slot then you can get a new video card, however if it only has PCI slots, then that measn you have intergrated graphics and that could be why BF2 isn't playing well or at all. Im not sure how to describe slot types to you, PCI are usally white, AGP and PCI Express are usally at the top of all slots and are a differen't color like black or red or something.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

i dont think you can over clock your CPU unless you flash your bios...cause by memory i think that HP, Dell, Compaq and so on..basicly any pre-built computer...the company locks it so u cant OC it...sux i kno....i have a HP...but im building my new system soon

-=Edit=-

hahaha STE we posted at the same time
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Here's my PC info--> http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...00066554#N10036

And MB info --> http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...cname=c00063244

If I can't OC my CPU that's fine, 2.8 should be good. What about my Video Card? Would I be able to OC it, if so, how much? I just want to improve the gaming on the machine. Any other suggestions to improve would be appreciated (besides by another one, or buy a new video card). Thanks
RadRacer is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

A low end video card won't show that much difference even if you overclock, and I said low-end because your card is probably a cheap one because you got it with your compaq. Look into getting a new video card and better ram.
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 05:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to RadRacer
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RockyZ
A low end video card won't show that much difference even if you overclock, and I said low-end because your card is probably a cheap one because you got it with your compaq. Look into getting a new video card and better ram.
I've already doubled my RAM...I now have 1G. Or did you mean get better Ram (better than pc2700)? If so, wouldn't I need a new MoBo also?As for the video Card, I just wanted to squeeze the extra little bit of performance I could out of it, but if it won't make much of a difference, never mind then. I guess I'll just have to wait for my 6800GT...
__________________

RadRacer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.