Coolest PSU ever! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 04:39 PM   #21 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

LED's take next to nothing to power. Althought, my dad left his car sitting for about two weeks, in the winter, and the radar detector always being on (stupid fords) it killed his battery. But that was in EXTREMELY cold conditions. No, you dont have to worry about LED's taking power away from your computer.

You are only going up 60 watts, thats not that much. If i were doing an upgrade, I would want to go pretty high. Maybe the OCZ Powerstream 600W. Antec is very good, so you really cannot go wrong with the one that you are thinking of getting. But if it is just going from a crap PSU to a good one, than you dont really need a high powered one, just a good one. I upgraded to a 520W OCZ from my 520W peice of crap local computer shop budget bull**** overpriced POS PSU. That guy, I'm so pissed at him, what a scum bag. Sold me Jetway telling me it was one of the best. JETWAY!!! WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?! He was such a scumbag, I think he beats off to customers in his office. He has a two way mirror between him and the customers, and he is a scumbag, so... Lets not get off topic here.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:43 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

dang, why did i look here? Now I want one!!!
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:45 PM   #23 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

It's one of those things. It's like the Sirens; you hear their voice, go to them, and BAM! They got you, and there is no getting out.
Him is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 04:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

850 watts?? thats only slightly overkill How much would of of those cost? I bet there is a huge premium for one.

If they are no good I will stick with one of the main companies, who are good. It is just tempting, as it is the same price as the modstream, and looks loads better, and has 100 more watts output.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 05:33 PM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default

Yea the antec is ALOT better than what i got. lets put it this way, this raidmax has 13amps on the 12v rail!!! It running perfectly stable and i like it. I just want the antec name, blue LEDs, and more on the 12v rail.
i didnt think it would take any power, but i was just concerned about heat thats all but im sure if Antec puts it out it shouldnt be a problem. plus i dont really want anything that big for my Athlon XP system, its just a waiste! I will get something bigger for my AMD 64 system instead.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.