cool n'quite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default cool n'quite

Well I was using cool n'quite when I first got my computer back up and running and when I started to overclock it I noticed that it was just running full throttle again. Does cool n' quite work when the cpu is overclocked?
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

it's better to turn off cool'n'quite when you OC. because it'll make the CPU speed lower when it reachs certain temp. and most likely it will when you OC.
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Cool 'n Quiet is junk to begin with. As said, it underclocks your CPU if it gets too hot, and OC'ing it will make it hotter...so basically you're just wasting time.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Cool n quiet doesn't underclock when the CPU gets too hot. It's supposed to underclock and undervolt when it's at idle.

I've never had it work for me even at stock clocks.
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya I had some problems but I downloaded something off of AMD's website and it worked.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OpticalIllusion
Cool n quiet doesn't underclock when the CPU gets too hot. It's supposed to underclock and undervolt when it's at idle.

I've never had it work for me even at stock clocks.
That is the correct info, everyone keeps belching back the same incorrect info time and time again. Your motherboard has to support cool n quiet, and it has to turned on in the bios, I think it also needs specific drivers to turn on in windows. It might cut out for stability reasons when you overclock, as undervolting a overclocked cpu is somewatt dangerous, so lance thats probably why it cut out.
Sui is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Hmmm, didn't know the temp thing.

Anyways, you said undervolting an overclocked CPU is dangerous, why's that? I was under the impression that CPUs are like people: when they don't have the energy, they don't do work.

I overclock, but I pretty much never overvolt, then again F@H is on so cool n quiet shouldn't kick in. Either way I'm not too worried.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 08:04 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bum
Hmmm, didn't know the temp thing.

Anyways, you said undervolting an overclocked CPU is dangerous, why's that? I was under the impression that CPUs are like people: when they don't have the energy, they don't do work.

I overclock, but I pretty much never overvolt, then again F@H is on so cool n quiet shouldn't kick in. Either way I'm not too worried.
When you overclock, you will eventually need to add more voltage to the CPU.

Think of an engine in your car. If you do something that adds more air to the engine you have to also add more fuel so that it won't run lean.

With a CPU, you overclock and have to add more voltage so it's not unstable.

Make sense?
__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 08:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the danger with cool n' quiet is that it lowers the vcore to 1.1v. if you are running an overclock you may well be runnning overvolted memory or at least memory with a high stock vdimm. if vdimm is above 2.85v when cool n' quiet kicks in your IMC is at risk.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

yeah basically with the voltages, if the voltage of the cpu is either way too high, or too low, in reference to what the memory voltage is then there are some diodes , that I think are in the cpu that overload (they are protection for the cpu from voltage spikes actually) and a surge of voltage will run straight into the cpu core and fry it.

this is also why you dont want your memory voltage to be way high when your cpu voltage is really low. the difference in voltages between the two can overload those diodes and potentially , according to amd, fry the cpu.
__________________

networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.