Controlling video card fan speed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2009, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Controlling video card fan speed

Is there a program that will let me control the fan speed on my video card? I know about Rivatuner but I can not get that working on Windows 7. I had a little trouble getting it to work on Vista as well. It keeps saying the driver is not digitally signed.

Are there any other programs or is there a way to get Rivatuner working?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 12-18-2009, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

I was gonna say Rivatuner, but then I read your post ALL THE WAY and realized you had another issue, so disregard..

I had the same issue before.. had to turn off driver signing somehow.. Looking it up now.. What card are you using?

Found this:
http://www.overclock.net/nvidia-driv...s-win-7-a.html

This is what some have switched to. -I'm gonna have to try it.. Looks pretty good!
http://www.evga.com/PRecision/
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

Does RIVA Tuner work on ATI Video cards?
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

I just installed EVGA precision and it done the job for me. All I needed was something to control the fan speed. I am not going to overclock it.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keyboard Cowboy View Post
Does RIVA Tuner work on ATI Video cards?
Riva tuner works on all video cards, just depends on the card weather you can clock it or mess with fan speeds.

I used it with my 4870. It can be a pain at times when it does not restore the clock or fan speeds after a restart, even when you select it to restore after restart.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Underverse
Posts: 6
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

im using the evga precision tool which for me works brilliant if you just wanna control your fan speeds! it also has a built in lcd app and osd so you can monitor the temps of the card and fps, among other things, im not sure but when i downloaded the tool from the evga site i had to create an account?? not sure if its the same now though???
mAfia_boy is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 10:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

MSI afterburner. can store easy little OC and fan profiles as well....and also assign shortcut keys for them.
MSI Afterburner

I have it programmed so if I hit my G1 key on my keyboard it will switch to .93V 240MHz idle, and if I hit G2 it will switch to 1.275V 905MHz 38% fan
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

I have an Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS 256mb (I think)

Why Core Voltage and Fan Speed can't be modified?

And is that modification I made good?
I made some other modifications like going it to full with
EVGA Precision and 1st time colors crashed and changed or wtf
and 2nd time I got reset and then BSOD :P

Is there good now?
Pros and cons of this modification?


ExTaCy1337 is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

^ You are pretty at max clocks for the stock cooler. I dont think you will be able to go any higher than about 580MHz on the core. Voltage control is disabled because it is not supported on that card.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-13-2010, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Controlling video card fan speed

Are you watching your gpu temperature? What are your temps at idle and Full Load?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling fan speed? oceanboundtx Overclocking and Modding 7 08-19-2008 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.