Controlling fan speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2007, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Question Controlling fan speeds

ok this one is a tricky one for me, i still dont understand it. I have a DFI Infinity ULTRAII-M2 and its got 5 fan connectors, one for the cpu, one for the chipset, one for a front fan, one for a side panel fan, and one for a back fan. but the thing is tho, I can only controll the CPU, CHIP, and FRONT fans...little annoying, because I need to have the one in the psu controlled, I have a fan controller, but I'd like to see the speed of the fans, and I have no way to have it get power from the fan controller, and get a cable down to the connectors to read the speeds. Is it a limitation with the board, or is there a setting in speedfan I have to set? here is a pic of the main page of speedfan. Oh, and dont freak out by TEMP 2, its my chipset, it can take 90, so im not worried, id upgrade the cooling, but the heatsink for my 7300le is directly over....POOR PLACEMENT DFI!!!!

lol

and also, Ill have one of the settings page in configure.

and on a completely different subject, have a good laugh at the last picture
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SFF.JPG (40.2 KB, 35 views)
File Type: jpg sffc.JPG (43.4 KB, 32 views)
File Type: jpg wtf.JPG (8.6 KB, 33 views)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Controlling fan speeds

You can't control the speed of the PSU fan unless it has a knob on the back
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 08:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Controlling fan speeds

no i mean i put my own fan in, and I would like to have it connected to the motherboard fan connector and controll its speed. (because its kinda loud and all, at 76cfm)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Controlling fan speeds

my sony vaio desktop system has a PSU fan that blows towards my CPU (LOL its my cpu/PSU fan) , anyway it died running on the psu so i cut the 3 cables and soldered a 3 pin adapter and now its running off my mobo , works perfectly fin but i had to dent the PSU to squeeze through the cables
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Controlling fan speeds

yea, lol, the psu I got had like a 10cfm fan, so I upgraded to a 75cfm, 120mm, and would like to control the fan speed via the software (thru speedfan, motherboard connector) because its got the sense thing, so I can monitor it, and have an alarm go off if the fan stalls.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upload speeds gimped? spartan1121 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 05-13-2007 09:20 AM
Wi-fi company VP discloses real Wi-fi speeds Wildside Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 05-12-2007 02:36 AM
Hard Drive Speeds and RAID 0 zdude255 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-26-2007 11:20 PM
$230 8600GTSí clock speeds: so which one should I get? rmNurse10 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 02:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.