Considering this ... HELP please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2004, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
2lo
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default Considering this ... HELP please

Hello all, I'm new to the forum and I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for me regarding getting a cheap new pc.

I currently have a OLLLDDDD emachine 366i2 machine. Like I said its old. I had upgraded the memory to the max which is 256. It has a 4g hard drive and cd player in it. I think its time to upgrade. My budget is small... about 550.00 for the whole setup, including monitor. I dont use the computer for much, download music, aol, some school work, and thats about it. I was considering this:
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...%3A3944%3A3951

Anyone know of a better route?

Thank you all in advance.
__________________

2lo is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

u can get a better PC for the same $ at http://www.cyberpowersystem.com
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
2lo
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

TheMajor... I just tried that site. I configured the same setup that Walmart has and it came out to a lil over 600.00 Thank you for the suggestion though.
2lo is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

Do you want to build the system or do you want to buy one that is already built?
Because I can get you a good computer that is in your budget if you wanna buy all of the parts separately.
I can even build it for you...
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
2lo
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Seria, Id honestly prefer to buy it all ready assembled, just for the main reason of convienance. One big box to unpack, and never a compatibility concern. And most preconfigured computers come w/ a few software programs already installed.

2Lo
2lo is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 03:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
PC Cutie ^_^
 
Seria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 553
Default

ok.
__________________
Seria is offline  
Old 09-18-2004, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 2lo
TheMajor... I just tried that site. I configured the same setup that Walmart has and it came out to a lil over 600.00 Thank you for the suggestion though.
600 bucks and waaay better quality I assume, even with the same specs, you will get a better computer.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 06:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

pre-built computers aren't great....the BIOS won't allow you any options whatsoever and generally they'll want you to take it to them if you ever want to upgrade it. Those things come with more than just a 'few' programs installed...dude they LOAD those things down with a ton of programs you don't need, that's why its better to just build your own. There's lots of info here and a lot of people willing to help. We will give you straight up links to the products you can buy and that we KNOW will be compatible....unless there's a factor that you don't know enough and want to take the chance of putting it together...the worst part is just hooking the power switch, reset switch, and little things like that to the proper motherboard jumpers...and even that with the manual makes it easy.

BTW: Celeron chips are the low-end of Intels...not meant for doing much, but if you don't use your computer for much anyway then go for it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 08:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Don't get a celeron processor, spring the extra dough and get a pentium 4. You won't regret it.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-19-2004, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
2lo
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Default

Celerons are that bad huh? OK, you guys ot me into considering building a new one, cause im sure down the road im going to want it for more then just some music and school work. Ive been looking at nestegg (I think thats the name) and have seen a few things. Im not sure what is a good brand motherboard or power supply, stuff like that. I was trying to configure parts that would come out to about the same price as that walmart one but using a Pentium cpu. Are the Pentium cpu speeds the same as a Celeron speed? And does anyone know if i can get it preloaded w/ Windows XP instead of having to shell out 90 bucks to buy it?

Once again, thank you all for your responses.
__________________

2lo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.