Conroe - 5Ghz already broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-30-2006, 07:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default Conroe - 5Ghz already broken

Unbelievable, before the chip is even released it hits 5Ghz. I remember just hoping they would hit 4Ghz There is definitely some overhead in this core design.



Source: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=101421
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

These processors have to be freaking cherry-picked, I don't understand why else Intel wouldn't bother binning these higher than 3GHz based on what sort of yields they are currently getting out of them (apparently)

either way that is pretty ridiculous, but ehhh, the two just don't add up...especially considering I think they dropped the 3.33ghz EXTREME edition from the roadmap, WHY?!?!
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Jesus Titty ******* christ!!!!!!!!!

My god.....next week it will be single digit PI numbers...


this was fugger right?


EDIT: just read the topic at XS, Guess not



Gaara after thinking about it you have a point.


It dosent make sense, why wouldnt intel just make the defualt speed higher if people are hitting insane overclocks like this...


Why did they drop the Extreme Edition?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
These processors have to be freaking cherry-picked, I don't understand why else Intel wouldn't bother binning these higher than 3GHz based on what sort of yields they are currently getting out of them (apparently)

either way that is pretty ridiculous, but ehhh, the two just don't add up...especially considering I think they dropped the 3.33ghz EXTREME edition from the roadmap, WHY?!?!
I don't know, look how Dothan scaled. Top production speed on those was what 2.13Ghz? But they clocked passed 4Ghz.

The top P4 was 3.8Ghz, but they clocked to almost 8Ghz.

Keep in mind that Intel is very focused on low energy consumption now as well.

But shoot, IDK, they could be cherry picked as well

Quote:
Why did they drop the Extreme Edition?
They didn't drop it, it is just the first one that will come out at launch will be 2.93Ghz with a 1066FSB. The chip used here actually.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

I've read that Intel is going for the same approach that the video card manufacturers are using now. Even though they can make a processor clocked higher than they currently have planned, they don't need to do that in order to beat the competition (AMD), but once AMD gets competitive again and offers something that performs equally or just better than the best Intel has to offer, Intel can one up them. Much like the situation between NVidia and ATI.
cedjunior is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 11:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742
Default

Yes, cedjunior it is a marketing move. Just in case they need to release or plan on releasing new CPUs in the near future for whatever reasons, (competition, AMD gets stiffer) they can just overclock the Conroes and sell them for a higher price.
wtk pro l is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default

They wont overclock the conroes then sell them for a higher price... They will just make there default speeds higher which would decrease there headroom while increasing price...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 01:06 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Dammit! Why did I get a 4400+?! *bangs head on desk*
cyrax is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 02:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
Jesus Titty ****ing christ!!!!!!!!!

My god.....next week it will be single digit PI numbers...


this was fugger right?


EDIT: just read the topic at XS, Guess not



Gaara after thinking about it you have a point.


It dosent make sense, why wouldnt intel just make the defualt speed higher if people are hitting insane overclocks like this...


Why did they drop the Extreme Edition?
Didnt they already get a 9 second PI? I thought i saw one somewhere... i dunno though.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 05:09 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 130
Default

wtf, 5 ghz at 1.32 vcore?
__________________

Travis18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.