Confusing Overclocking Problem... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2005, 11:28 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

OK, at least a couple things to check out:

Did you lock AGP/PCI? If not, do so at 66/33.
How is your PSU, is it undervolting?
Have you tried any changes to vcore or vdimm?

I guess I just won't be able to overclock or something.
No, you just need to read more and do more testing. I would at least isolate the problem between the RAM or the CPU. Lower the multi to x11 and try again. Keep the RAM at 1:1. If it works, it is not the RAM. You can keep going by continuing to lower the multi but raising HTT and keeping the CPU under 2.4Ghz and see what your RAM can take.

Now, do the same thing with the CPU. Put the multi back to x12. Change the FSB:RAM divider to 4:3 or something, and raise HTT. Check how high you can go and with what vcore while continuing to keep the RAM under 200Mhz. This way you can find your max CPU speed.

Keep note of what vcore and vdimm is needed at speeds, and then put together a combination that comes as close to possible of maxing out each such as 11x240 or whatever it might be.


BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

if you're running your RAM at stock voltages and not only that, keep it at stock timings then it will fail pretty quickly.

RAM is more difficult to get stable than the CPU so if you aren't familiar with OC'ing your RAM then you shouldn't be keeping it 1:1 right now

Nubius is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 04:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900

Did you lock AGP/PCI? If not, do so at 66/33.

Yep, locked.

How is your PSU, is it undervolting?

I don't think so. I just got a new PSU, see here. All of the voltages fall within the accepted variance ranges under load.

Have you tried any changes to vcore or vdimm?

I tried raising the CPU VCore from 1.5V to 1.65V and couldn't get it to run stable, so I gave up. I tried raising the VDimm to 2.7V.

Thank you all for the replies, they were very helpful. I was checking my CPU temp, and currently it idles at about 46 C, so I won't have much overclocking headroom at all. I might have to get a Thermalright XP-120 or a Zalman 7700CU before I can try to do any overclocking.

Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.