Confused with memory timings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2007, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Angry Confused with memory timings

Crucial Ballistix PC6400 800mhz.

I'm on 2.1v and I'm changed my timing from 4-4-4-12-4 to 4-3-3-9-4.........

Yet, On Sandra, for the memory bandwith, and memory latency tests, I'm getting higher scores...........

For memory bandwith, I was at 6675/6705 mb/s, and this number has increased.........

For memory Latency, I was at 104 n/s(memory Latency) and 103.8 n/s(Speed)....... and these numbers have also increased.........

According to "Interpretation", vales are better if lower.......but they are getting higher......... but my timings are tighter.......... what's going on?!??!?!
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 04:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

104n/s!! wow.

What FSB are you running?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 04:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

First thing you need to do is run memtest at those latencies and make sure that they are stable. What is probably happening is you are getting errors due to the timings being to tight which will cause a performance hit.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

Gurusan, my FSB is 1500
My CPU is overclocked at 375x8 = 3Ghz; I'm sure I can overclock higher (haven't tried), but I've reached my goal of 3ghz already. I'm idling at 22-23C and 44C on load.

The only thing that's bothering me is my RAM now. I've ran Orthos and Prime for over 9 hours with no errors at 2.1Vdimm 4-3-3-9. I'm running 1:1, so i'm at 750mhz. I tried to loosen my timings to 5-5-515 at 938mhz @ 2.1Vdimm(That's the next option up), but my computer becomes unstable. I'm not sure how much Vdimm is safe, as I don't want to run too high of a Vdimm.

at 4-4-4-9, I get 6618mb/s, and at 4-3-3-9, I get 6313mb/s.......... why is tighter timings giving me worse performance? And my latency gets worse too...........
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

375 is a deadspot int he p5b deluxe in terms of memory performance.

Drop your multi to 7x ....jump straight to 401mhz, set your timings to 4,4,4,12 and ram to 1:1 ratio.

That will give you 802mhz ram, then do a benchmark to see if you have your latency and bandwidth back. Then you can go back and set your multiplier to 8x and have 3208mhz Might need some more vcore for that but shouldn't need too much. Even really, really bad stepping e6400s do 3.2ghz on 1.4ish
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

What numbers should I be looking for interms of memory bandwith and latency Guru? I'm set at 1.3Vcore In the BIOS at the moment, so I think I shouldn't need too much juice to run 401.
__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

Should be high 50s to mid 60ish ns latencies...not sure on the bandwidth though. I get over 8500mb/s but am currently running 1058mhz
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 12-31-2007, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 184
Send a message via MSN to TheGlazer
Default Re: Confused with memory timings

Thx a lot Guru, I'm going to try those settings right now. Much appreciated.


UPDATE

Ok, I did exactly as your said; I'm now at 3208.84 mhz @ 1.3375 Vcore and running prime to ensure stability, and see if I can lower my Vcore a notch.
However, My Latency is only @ 85ns........and Bandwith @ 6773mb/s........... I'm still not getting to the 60ish for latency and 7000s for my Bandwith.......... I dunno if this will help, but I'll give you my info. for timings
4-4-4-12-4-20-10-10-10-11 @ 2.1Vdimm running 801.
__________________

__________________
CM Haf 932
Intel i7860
Asus Maximus 3 Forumula
2x2GB Corsair Dominator GT
XFX 6870 Dual Fan
Intel 80GB SSD
1GB Seagate 7200.12
1GB WD Black
Thermalright Venomous X
Corsair 750W Modular P/S
Samsung T220
Scythe Kaze Master Ace Fan Controller
Genius SW-5.1 1505 Speaker System
Windows 7 Professional 32bit.
TheGlazer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
Memory timings... the_vdende Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 10-01-2007 11:47 AM
fixing memory timings after cpu overclock regeisle Overclocking and Modding 22 08-17-2007 07:22 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.