Confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2006, 12:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default Confused

I have an pretty out of date hp that i got for Christmas one year. I do like to play games on it like Battlefield 1942, Civ IV, and World of Warcraft. When I play world of warcraft I have to play with the resolution set at 800x600 and the game runs at an average of 14 FPS. The Processor in it right now is an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ With an FSB of 200 MHz. I have a Video card in one of the PCI slots. The card is a PNY Geforce FX 5500. And i can't figure out of my FPS problem is because of the video card or the processor. If someone could give me advice that would be great.

Thanks
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Erich K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Las Cruces, New Mexico
Posts: 241
Default Re: Confused

Quote:
Originally posted by Snake91839
I have an pretty out of date hp that i got for Christmas one year. I do like to play games on it like Battlefield 1942, Civ IV, and World of Warcraft. When I play world of warcraft I have to play with the resolution set at 800x600 and the game runs at an average of 14 FPS. The Processor in it right now is an AMD Athlon XP 3000+ With an FSB of 200 MHz. I have a Video card in one of the PCI slots. The card is a PNY Geforce FX 5500. And i can't figure out of my FPS problem is because of the video card or the processor. If someone could give me advice that would be great.

Thanks
I have the same computer. I think you need a better graphics card. The one i have (Sapphire x800GTO AGP) works great, and i can play most games on the highest details.
__________________

Erich K is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default

Thanks a lot, it's a relief to know it's the Video card instead of the cpu.
Snake91839 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

when that PC really goes out of date, scrap out the optical drives and other useful hardware and you could probably build yourself a good cheap gaming comp.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 08:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
when that PC really goes out of date, scrap out the optical drives and other useful hardware and you could probably build yourself a good cheap gaming comp.
Yep..

I bought a new case, motherboard, and CPU, a mousepad, and some fans for like $300. When I buy my video card, I'll have a pretty decent gaming rig for about $500. It won't be the best, but it will run any game out.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

If you can afford and find it, the 6800GS will be your best bet, get a new hs/f+as5, and unlock the pipes and vertex shaders and oc to 6800 ultra speeds.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 12:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

I think he may have PCI only slots...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 06:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

If he does then get a 6200...or there's another card that's a bit better but I can't remeber which one.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-22-2006, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

upgradding toa better cpu might be cheaqper then upgrading the gpu after theprice drops....
massacreinfallx is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 09:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Snake91839's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 471
Default

I know that I have been looking a lot at building a new computer, but i would have a budget of around 700-1000 dollars. I've been snooping around on newegg and have found a lot of cheap stuff that looks pretty good, but I also want to be able to run about any game that I want. If anyone has any hardware suggestions, that'd be great.
__________________

Snake91839 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.