computer wont turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 11:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to strauss1991
Default computer wont turn on

Im building my first computer and having trouble. My mother board is in and my computer wont turn on. the fans wont even move. Ive tried all combinations of having video card sound card ram and front panel hooked up but no matter what i cant get my computer to get any power except a small light that flashes in the ethernet port for half a second. if any one can help me please do.
just for reference this is my computer
CASE- DYNAPOWER C8214.68.0757 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 430W Power Supply - Retail

MOTHERBOARD-Foxconn NF4UK8AA-8EKRS Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Video Card-Leadtek PX6200 TC -64 Geforce 6200TC Supporting 256MB* DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail

PROCESSOR-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice Integrated into Chip FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3000BPBOX - Retail
RAM-CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail

HARDDRIVE-Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3250823AS 250GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

KEYBOARD/MOUSE-Logitech Cordless Desktop Optical 967320-0403 Black PS/2 RF Wireless Standard Keyboard Mouse Included - OEM

SOUNDCARD-SABRENT SBT-SP6C 6 (5.1) Channels PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail

DVD/CD-SONY Black IDE Combo Drive Model CRX320E Black - OEM

SPEAKERS-DCT Factory OG-550 25 Watts 5.1 Speaker - Retail
IS there any reason my computer wont turn on
__________________

strauss1991 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

check that your power supply is correctly connected first. Then check on the back of it and see if there is an on off switch. Most commonly there is and it is in the off position by default. Try that and post back.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Make sure your power supply is properly connected to your mobo. Also make sure that your power supply isn't DOA. It sounds like the power supply because normally, at least the fam will turn on, even if the computer doesn't post.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to strauss1991
Default

i have been using the swich in the back the whole time. along with the button in the front when it is plugged in. I think its the power supply as well but i feal really screwed right now. is it possible i damaged the cpu? when i put it in it locked into place just fine
strauss1991 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to Jonc731
Default

Im pretty sure even with a damaged CPU your fans will start when the pc is powered on.
Jonc731 is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 03:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

I had one stupid psu that in order to get it to work I had to hold the power button in the front on and then switch the psu on and off repeatedly till it fired. Somthing to do with how the reset switch was connected I think.

Make sure the reset swtich and all the rest of those little annoying connectors are in the right places, if they are (check the manual to be absolutley sure) then I would get a new psu and try it to see if that is the issue.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 04:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Did you install the pegs that go onto the case before you install the motherboard? Did you put the wire connectors from the switch on the right place on the motherboard?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
Did you install the pegs that go onto the case before you install the motherboard? Did you put the wire connectors from the switch on the right place on the motherboard?
This is my thought, it sounds like you forgot to connect the power switch connector to your MB.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 06:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

check all of your connections for the front case panel and see if their in the correct spots on your motherboard. if they are, flip them over, they might be in backwards.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.