Computer Won't Start anymore - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2005, 09:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default Computer Won't Start anymore

Just like to say hello to the community, and that I'm new here, so give me a break . Anyway, hope you can help.

I just recently built a rig that I'm going to be using for digital audio recording. As for specs:

P4 3.0ghz Prescott
FOXCONN 865M01-G-6ELS Mobo
1 Gig Corsair Value Select PC3200
DVD/CD RW combo drive
Rosewill Radeon 9600 128MB
450watt Micro ATX PSU
200 gig Seagate SATA

At any rate, I did my shopping, got everything that I needed for what I'll be doing, and had my computer running great for the first couple of days. I decided to test out my DVD/CD RW combo drive and burn a few CD's. After successfully burning my first CD, I clicked on a button to burn another, and my computer went off. I haven't been able to start it since (for about 3 days now.)

When turning on the computer, it gets a small jolt of power, and then dies again. I think it might be the PSU, but I couldn't imagine it burning out. I've checked all of my connections, made sure nothing was grounding out, and taken several other measures to attempt to figure out what was wrong with the system. my P4 was running at 37C and the box ambience 29C, so I don't think it was a matter of heat.

Any suggestions?

Siberkil is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 09:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388

Well I made a similar post about a month ago with my new setup. The problem was EXACTLY the same, and I suggest that you unplug all the fans (that was my problem) to see if you can boot. If still you cannot, try connecting just the 4pin and 20pin to the motherboard (with all the cards and drives still connected, just no power, but no fans). If computer boots, this is good, you should hear a noise because I believe that card needs a power connection, if so it will beep because it doesn't have it. Next, install the video card with power.

Afterwords follow ONE AT A TIME!! with the following:
Drives(1 at a time)
case lighting

You should figure out where your problem is by seeing when the computer won't boot after plugging a certain thing in.

Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 10:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

mine turned off once.. and then it wouldnt turn on again.. my friend fixed it tho.. he took some jumpers off or sumthin i think =\
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 01-28-2005, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

Start with just 1 stick of memory, 1 harddrive, a video and see if it boots.
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7

Thanks for the input. I'll give it a whirl and see what happens. I was going to ask, might my memory stick have burned out or something? I've heard that bad memory can cause all kinds of weird things.
Siberkil is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665

I doubt that ram would cause that, closest problem I have ever had to this was an on off switch malfunctioning. It would stick down when you turned it on and in three seconds power off.

You need to narrow down your problem, try removing all non essential componets and by that I mean even the cables for panel switches, cdrom, any front panel usb's. Only the vid, one ram stick, cpu, hsf, and thats it. If it comes on with no problems then reconnect 1or 2 things at a time to find the problem.
Sui is offline  
Old 01-29-2005, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Generally if the RAM is shot it'll either simply power up but nothing will come on the screen, or if you do get into windows it'll error and give you blue screens, things like that.

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.