Computer Wont Boot Up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2006, 09:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default Computer Wont Boot Up

Hi there its me again im having problems with my other computer (its not any bettter then the one i have now) its an IBM Aptiva Designed for Win 95/NT now i poped in a second hard drive but now when i turn it on i dont get a picture on the monitor any suggestion on how i can repair this problem and also whenb i try to reformate it with win xp svp 1 or 2 it give me a message saying cant find NDTLR does anyone know what this means. please if you have any suggestions on fixing my problem please post

Basic Specs of the Aptiva

AMD K6 266 MHz (i kno same as my other computer)W
Quad Speed CD-Rom Drive
96 MB RAM (1 x 32, 1 x 64)
Primary Master Drive 5 gig HDD
Primary Slave Drive = CD-ROm
Secondary Drive 900 MB HDD
3.5 Floppy
__________________

Ioanni is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 12:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

try resetting CMOS.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Is it just a new hard drive? If its set to the primary, it needs a boot partition in order for it to startup an OS.
turtile is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

good god that thing is ancient!
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 02:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default Re: Computer Wont Boot Up

Quote:
Originally posted by Ioanni
Basic Specs of the Aptiva

AMD K6 266 MHz (i kno same as my other computer)W
Quad Speed CD-Rom Drive
96 MB RAM (1 x 32, 1 x 64)
Primary Master Drive 5 gig HDD
Primary Slave Drive = CD-ROm
Secondary Drive 900 MB HDD
3.5 Floppy



whoa.
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 06-25-2006, 01:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 154
Default

yeah i kno its old but it was doing the job, it was good having it work for that month it did if it lasted longer that would of been great 'cause many times i needed the computer but my brother was usung it, the original HDD us set to primary the CD to primary slave and the new HDD to secondry
__________________

__________________
Windows Vista Ultimate
Xion Solaris Black/Green Mid ATX Case w/Neon Glow
Intel 975XBX2KR Intel Socket 775 ATX -Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Kingston Dual Channel HyperX 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA Hard Drive
BFG GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB PCI-E Dual DVI/HDTV/HDCP Enabled Video Card
Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCI Sound Card
Sony DVD Burner and Sony 1.44 MB Floppy Drive
24" Samsung LCD TV/Monitor
Ioanni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.