Computer Turning Off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2007, 09:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 26
Default Computer Turning Off

I just built my new rig got XP installed I should have alll the updated drivers for everything. But everytime I play BF2142 or WoW, the computer turns off. It also only happens when I try and run those 2 games. Havent tried it with anything else because I dont have any other games. So plese any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comp Specs are in sig.

PS- I posted this in wrong forum. Could a MOD please delete?
__________________

S13DET is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 12:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Check your temps and your ram. Also run prime95 and see if it craps out, watching your temps at the same time.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default

Your problem might be your RAM. I had a similar build using G-Skill RAM over the summer and it caused random crashes during games. I diagnosed it was a bad RAM stick, so try installing only one stick and see if you experience any crashes and do the same with the other. Hope my input can help and good luck.
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Maybe there is a fault somewhere in the power supply and it cant provide enough power under load. Also high temperatures would cause an auto shutdown.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 08:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

try geting a beter PSU m8 600 W be fine. 500w to low for set up you Got and 99% of the time when it terns of its the PSU Dieing
NemesisX is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 09:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no, a 500W PSU will run his setup. just not if it's a low quality one.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

err no m8 look at the speaks be for you say that and it is hes PSU trust me iv Bulits alot of PC to know whats up and 500 depending Hoe old the PSU is remeber its a 8800 may not is hard for power as GTX But ir will Kill the PSu i Know iv Test it
NemesisX is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

PS Note: These cards require PCI-E x16 slots, they will not function in a x8 slot so for SLi you need dual x16 mainboard. Finally 500W minimum for PSU and 600W+ is recommended. OWND
NemesisX is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 05:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NemesisX
err no m8 look at the speaks be for you say that and it is hes PSU trust me iv Bulits alot of PC to know whats up and 500 depending Hoe old the PSU is remeber its a 8800 may not is hard for power as GTX But ir will Kill the PSu i Know iv Test it
I did look at the specs. a single 8800, and an E6300 will run on 500W fine. just as long as the PSU isn't a cheapo one.

Nvidia actually recommends a 450W PSU for the 8800's (GTX included)

I used to run my 7900 GT at 1.68V (stock is 1.2V), heavily overclocked, on a 450W PSU.

And actually, all PCI-E 16X cards can run at 8X bandwith.
the slot isn't different; it just uses half the lanes.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 06:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

dam you do not like being told your Not right do you its the PSU use your Head O M
__________________

NemesisX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.