computer speaker - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-24-2006, 03:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default computer speaker

So my one computer speaker is shot so i only have 1 and it sounds weird.

Does it matter what size speaker i replace the broken one with?

I was going to use an alarm clock speaker which is almost the same size but the rim thingy makes the speaker look twice the size as i have now.

Nothing bad will happen right?
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

You mean the case speaker? If so, check that the electrical specs are similar (voltage and wattage, mainly).

It may be possible to buy a replacement, tho, so look around. Something like this.

Edit: Uhm, on second thought, I think you're talking about regular desktop speakers. Unless the replacement you're considering has the same electrical specs, I don't think it'll work.
__________________

__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

no speakers that are beside the monitor not the computer speaker sorry my bad.
Norcent is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 714
Send a message via AIM to Meithan Send a message via Yahoo to Meithan
Default

Well, unless the part you're gonna swap out has the same electrical specs as the original one, it probably won't work. Speakers have very specific electronics.

Either take the speaker to a professional repair shop, or just buy a new pair of speakers.
__________________


SuperPi 1M: 29.6s - 3DMark06: 8616
The Geek Test v3.1 Score: 36.3% - Major Geek
Meithan is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

It will work just check the ohms should both be 8 ohms, if not it doesnt matter it will work. just listen the only negative effect it will have is sound quality if its not compatible it will produce crappy sound.
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea watch the resistance (like said above 8 ohms). Uh otherwise it's all good.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 11-24-2006, 09:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

lol it'll probably sound really bad, but give it a shot. you have nothing to lose, right? speaker's already broken....
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 08:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by molsen
lol it'll probably sound really bad, but give it a shot. you have nothing to lose, right? speaker's already broken....
no, he could short the other speaker in the process! lol, j/k it should work fine if the ohm's and watts match up closely
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 10:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 55
Default

Even a 16 ohm paired with a 4 or 8 will work, albeit at a different sound pressure level. Watch the polarity also, or you wll have a reverse-wired pair where one speaker negates the other-...and sounds "tinny". Both need to move in same direction with each signal. One way to check the polarity if the wire markings are not legible is momentarily using a small battery to cause the speaker to "pulse" in or out. make sure they move the same way when wired with the battery+ post on same lead of the 2 separate speakers. Disconnect both from pc first though..
krazefinn is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 12:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default

why dont you just buy a new pair of speakers? a new pair should cost under 10$. but if you really wanted to replace the speaker it should not be that hard.
__________________

__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.