Computer Random Restarts Help from experts only! Or anyone that had this problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 02:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Question Computer Random Restarts Help from experts only! Or anyone that had this problem!

I've been having problems with my computer. It keeps restarting itself randomly. At first I thought it was a ram problem. So I went ahead and tested all three rams and two failed. I thought that was weird so i retested those two rams in another computer and it pasted! Now I knew it was a motherboard problem. So I figured I would try to reset the cmos battery since thats the only thing I can do. Once it reset I retested the Ram and all three rams passed. I thought I fixed the problem but again it restarted when I was playing Starcraft. Now I was truely stumped. So I decided to deassemble the computer and dust all the components. I've moved the hard drive to a cooler location and reapplied thermal paste to my cpu. Again it didn't help! I've also tried to update bios, checked for virus, ran spybot and ad-aware with no luck! I've alot of stress on my cpu with prime95 with no restarts. Its totally random! Please any advise would help. Please note that I've unchecked automatic restart under system and recovery. (no blue screen). Also my power supply is a thermal take 480 W butterfly which was purchased less than 2 months ago.

Here are my specs

Windows XP (service pack 1)
Gigabyte sinxp1394 (motherboard)
2X512 Samsung Ram + 256 Elixir Ram
P4 2.53 MHZ (Not overclocked)
128 Sapphire Radeon 9800
1 120 gig Serial ATA Hard drive Maxtor
1 120 gig IDE Hitachi Hard drive (set to primary master)
Sony Dru - 530A DVDRW (set to primary slave)
Plextor 48x24x48 CD-rw (set to secondary master)
Sony DVD drive (Set to secondary slave)
Soundblaster Live Gamer Edition

Please help I've never been this stumped on a computer problem before. Thanks
__________________

kangshi17 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Hmmm...sounds like a power supply problem to me. Maybe the one you got was defective. Try a different one and see if it works.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 06:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Since it only 2 months old i'm gonna try to exchange it tomorrow. Is it possible my power supply to overheat. Thermaltake Pure power Butterfly comes with a fan control which can be hooked up to the psu. If I put it on low settings I get more random restarts. And also it restarts only twice or so at night as opposed to 7-10 during the day. I was thinking that it might be Bad voltage in my house aka (dirty voltage). Is there a device that will give me stable power to my computer? Thanks for your help!
kangshi17 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 06:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

It depends on which test your memory fails on within memtest86+

Please be aware of the fact that memtest86+ tests your CPU, L1 Cache and L2 Cache.

If it fails on Test 5 then I suggest stepping your FSB MHz down a few - this should solve your problem.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Well like I said after resetting the cmos battery all 3 rams past the test. Thanks for the reply =)
kangshi17 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 01:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Default

OH OH OH OH
i might have the answer for that

my computer randomly restarted for no reason and i had no idea wtf it was. it came out to be a f****** annoying virus that somehow got passed my firewall and antivirus 2003 program.

it was quite hard to terminate it but it still worked =)

try running your virus programs which has been updrated to find up to date viruses
__________________
<img src=http://us.f2.yahoofs.com/users/41b40799z1e7cbc64/2a2b/__sr_/8c8d.jpg?phCsRuBB.0_pqmvX>
geo3tech is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 02:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

I hesitate to suggest this but some bios systems allow you to set an automatic shut down when the cpu reaches a certain temp. Perphaps you have this set on a low temp and thats why it seems to shut down for no reason...
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default

Everyone Thanks for the great suggestions but I checked bios and the only thing close to reset is cpu fail warning which was disabled and also I've updated norton antivirus 2004 and rescanned my computer with no luck. I'm starting to think its a heating problem. Since it mostly happens during 12-7pm. So what could be overheating? Graphic Card ? PSU? CPU? any suggestions?
kangshi17 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Do you have any thermal sensors in your computer and if so give up some temps.
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 03:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default

I don't have a thermal sensor for my case but I do have one for the cpu. I'll record that by tonight. Hopefully I can reslove this quickly its starting to aggreviate me
__________________

kangshi17 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.