Computer Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default Computer Problem

My computer isn't working at all, I'm not even getting anything on the monitor. I tried to set the FSB from 333 to 400 and nothing would come up on the monitor. I'm not getting any BIOS beeps. I tried to take out the battery on the mobo and put it back in but nothing changed. Any suggestions or am I going to have to get a new mobo/processor?

EDIT:

Now I am getting the 1 beep for the BIOS and the screen stays blank after that. I just realized I tried to OC my Athlon XP 2800+ Barton Core which is originally 2.085GHz to 2.5GHz but when I took the processor out it didn't look burnt out at all. I'm thinking I have to reset the BIOS but I can't get into it. Any way of manually resetting the BIOS to it's default settings?
__________________

chrishazsaid is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

to reset the bios, "I BELIEVE", that you take the battery, CMOS battery?, out and leave it out for about 10 minutes and you put it back in...and are the case fans running is it your video card?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 133
Default

You have to locate the jumper on your mobo and switch the joiner over for a few seconds and then back again but I do belive that the battery removal works too.
24/7 Gamer is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

he fixed it, he had to start a whole NEW TOPIC

EDIT: so the battery thing works, so if i OC my pc i and i mess up i want to know that i can reset my bios correctly
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.