Computer keeps powering off by itself when playing games. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Overclocking and Modding
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default Computer keeps powering off by itself when playing games.

I have been using my P4 computer well for about 2.5 years. I have been playing lots of games and watching lots of videos. However, recently, my computer kept on turning off by itself when playing games. Also, once, when I was watching a mp4 file, it turned off. It was weird because I have been playing the game(vice city) for about a year and it just started malfunctioning. So at first I thought it was problem with the videocard.

So this is exactly what happens:

while im playing vice city, computer just turns off.

If I press the power button again right away, it will not turn back on. when I unplug and plug back the power cord, a tiny lightbulb right next to the power cord lights up. and then I can turn my computer back on.

Or if I come back after a while to turn it back on, it turns back on.


One stupid thing I've done was having a new hard drive lean on the video card. (because I wanted it to be a slave drive) After that computer did not turn on so I replaced the hard drive and it worked fine again.

but about 2 months after that, out of no where, this whole turning off by itself staerted.

Please help thanks.
__________________

phatxtiger is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
xFx
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4
Default

I agree that Its overheat because my Comp right now did do that to. I would play CounterStrike Condition Zero for about 1 hour and my computer would just reboot by itself. I added a 4 new fans to it and also some memory cooler for my RAM and now its awesome. Try to get your temp like Placebo said. My temp used to be like 66c and my mobo would be 39c. Now its gone down quite a bit and my Comp function perfectly.
__________________

xFx is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

u should probly clean it out becuase if u have to much dust on everything it will overheat faster
__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 08:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

yup definitely sounds like an overheating problem. Check your bios and it might tell you at what temperature it automatically shuts itself off. Its probably not a good idea to change it though, being that it keeps your cpu from flaming up lol. Check out a cpu hs/f if you still using stock, and make sure your case has a good airflow. Post your temps too if you dont mind...
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Get some air in a can and remove the dust from all your fans and MOBO. Don't forget your PS. This should clear up your problem.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 03:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to CyToToXiC Send a message via Yahoo to CyToToXiC
Default

when u do that let the computer sit overnight (off) so the moister from the air can can evaporate.. also run a vacum.
__________________
Aspire X-Dreamer case
Asus A7NX8-E
AMD Athlon XP 3200+**
Soundblaser Audigy 2 ZS
Geforce NX6600 GT
2 WD 120 GB Hard Drives**
1 GB CORSAIR RAM**

**sitting MIA in some warehouse
CyToToXiC is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 05:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Few things you can do:
  • Check for dust around mainboard memory (RAM),
  • Look for any popped Capacitors,
  • Run Adware 6.0SE and Spybot: S&D and any Anti-virus software,
  • Monitor your CPU and System temperatures, <40C to 55C is what your CPU temperature should be, 10C to 40C for System.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-13-2004, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Hey guys thanks for replys. but still have some questions


1. Please tell me how to check my PC's temperature.

2. I always kept my computer case open, and when it started to turn off by it self, I had a mini fan(not for computers) right next to it blasting powerful wind but I don't think it helped a lot. Does it still sound like a temperature problem?


p.s. is leaving computer case open bad?
phatxtiger is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 04:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

You can use motherboard monitor to monitor your cpu temperature. Download here

I don't think that keeping the case open is a bad thing. Just keep the dust blown out of it and you shluod be fine.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 10:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 84
Default

phatxtiger, what wattage is your power supply? and how old is it.. it might be your power supply is dying or that it simply can not handle your games under a full load. Just in case all above didnt work
__________________

__________________
Amd 3500 cpu
Abit AV8 mobo
1gb (512x2mb) Corsair XMS low latency ram
ATI X800 XT videocard
36gb Western Digital 10,000rpm HD
2x 80gb Western Digital 7200rpm HDs
Antec neopower 480w psu
Ultra Dragon High Gloss Black Server case
ravin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.